Domain dossier
Shared background for a clinical problem, keyed by domain rather
than by candidate, so the second idea in an area starts from the first one's research.
A dossier carries no confidence tags. A line here has to be copied into a
candidate's claims as unverified before anything can check or score it.
Used by: idea-002
Research reports behind it: care-pathway · clinical-evidence · epidemiology · reference-products · technology · user-groups
This domain spans two species with meaningfully different wound biology and practice settings and a reader should not expect one blended figure to answer for both: canine distal-limb wounds are managed in general practice and small-animal referral surgery on a haired, mobile, chewable limb, largely as an inpatient-to-outpatient transition; equine distal-limb wounds are managed in equine hospitals and ambulatory field practice on a weight-bearing limb with a well-documented predisposition toward exuberant granulation tissue and prolonged, complicated second-intention healing, and NPWT use there is described mostly as an inpatient adjunct rather than a send-home device. Epidemiology (§1) and market players (§8) are written with species-split rows or subsections wherever a source supports one; where a source blends species or reports on humans only, that is stated rather than silently generalized. Read the thinness up front: no US federal dataset covers veterinary device epidemiology, pricing, or utilization at all (docs/research-lane-spec.md's stated veterinary-data limitation, confirmed again here), so §1 (epidemiology) and most of §6 (reimbursement) are genuinely thin and are reported as such rather than papered over. The human NPWT literature and FDA recall record for the human-labeled predicate devices (V.A.C., RENASYS, PICO) are the deepest, most reusable part of this file, because the candidate is explicitly positioned against exactly that canister-based incumbent design.
This file carries no confidence tags. Every line below is context with a source attached. To affect a score, a line must be copied into a candidate's ## Claims as unverified via engine/scripts/append_research_claims.py and pass the Verifier or Corroborator. See README.md in this directory.
Citation format: sources are numbered [N] at first use, reused for repeats, and listed in full in ## Sources at the end of this file.
as_of: 2026-08-27 · sources searched: connectors literature (queries: "canine distal limb degloving wound incidence," "dog traumatic wound emergency presentation incidence veterinary," "equine limb wound incidence trauma prevalence," "equine wound trauma UK veterinary practice prevalence VetCompass") · not searched: Banfield/Mars State of Pet Health, VetCompass US, the Veterinary Medical Database, AAEP/ACVS caseload reports — none reachable by any connector in this repo and none located by web search either, per the candidate's own claim 13 finding
This section is genuinely thin, and the thinness is itself the finding. No connector and no web search located a US (or any-country) incidence or prevalence figure specifically for "distal-limb wounds severe enough to warrant NPWT or free skin grafting" in dogs or horses. What PubMed returns instead for "dog traumatic wound incidence" is a run of single-institution retrospective case counts on unrelated trauma categories (stair falls, vehicular rollover, head trauma, zinc toxicosis) from the Journal of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care's "retrospective evaluation: N cases" series and the ACVECC Veterinary Committee on Trauma registry reports — none of which reports wound-specific or distal-limb-specific counts. Equine queries return horseback-riding and racing injury epidemiology (falls, musculoskeletal injury), not wound incidence.
| Fact | Quantity (n, population, date) | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Canine distal-limb wound incidence (US) | Not found | not found — see note above |
| Equine distal-limb wound incidence (US) | Not found | not found — see note above |
| Demographics / risk concentration | Not found for either species | not found |
| Trend direction | Not found for either species | not found |
Gaps: this is the same gap candidate idea-002's own claim 13 already names — no US connector covers veterinary procedure volume (procedures is Medicare fee-for-service and structurally blind to animal procedures) — and this pass's literature and web searches did not surface a substitute. Not searched rather than not found for one thing only: UK VetCompass-style primary-care EHR studies specifically scoped to wound presentations (the diabetes-monitoring dossier [see veterinary-diabetes-glucose-monitoring.md] found VetCompass epidemiology for a different condition; a wound-specific VetCompass query was run here and returned nothing, which is recorded as found-and-negative, not unsearched).
as_of: 2026-08-27
| Step in the pathway | Setting / site of service | Who performs it | What equipment is already there | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial wound assessment/debridement, dogs | General practice or small-animal referral surgery, in-clinic | Veterinarian (general practice or ACVS-boarded surgeon) | Standard surgical suite; canistered NPWT (V.A.C./RENASYS) or off-label human PICO if available | [1][5] |
| NPWT application, skin-graft bolstering, dogs | In-hospital, then increasingly sent home with the owner for the balance of therapy | Veterinarian/veterinary technician applies; owner manages at home | Portable canister-free device (PICO-class); technician follow-up by phone/recheck | [6][7] |
| NPWT application, limb wounds, horses | Equine hospital (inpatient) predominantly; ambulatory/field practice for less complex cases | Equine surgeon or ambulatory practitioner | Standing sedation/stocks for application; system left in place days at a time, not typically sent home with the owner in the reviewed case series | [9][10] |
| Wound closure or transition to conventional bandaging | Same setting as above, once granulation/graft take achieved or NPWT discontinued | Same as above | Conventional bandaging materials as the fallback/default | [5][9] |
The one directional finding this section can state with sources: in the largest equine case series located, NPWT was used as a days-to-weeks inpatient-adjunct therapy (mean application 11.5 days, system reset every ~4.5 days) rather than a send-home device, and over a quarter of the horses that were discharged were discharged before the treating team considered NPWT complete [9] — a site-of-service constraint this candidate's post-discharge, owner-managed design would need to engineer around specifically for the equine population, distinct from the canine population where send-home use is already described in the literature without that caveat [6].
Gaps: no source establishes what fraction of US general veterinary practices (versus referral/specialty practices) currently stock or offer any form of NPWT at all, typical visit or recheck frequency once a patient is discharged with a device, or staffing/throughput effects on either species' care pathway. Not searched beyond the case-series abstracts cited.
as_of: 2026-08-27
| Role | Who they are | What they gain | What they lose / what it costs them | Whose budget | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prescriber / decider | General practitioner, ACVS-boarded small-animal surgeon, or equine surgeon | Faster healing/shorter time to closure reported for canine NPWT vs. bandage/foam [5]; reduced complication rate in the same series [5] | No FDA-reviewed indication to rely on for an animal-only device — see §6; off-label use of a human device carries no veterinary-specific labeling to point to | N/A | [5]; §6 |
| Operator / daily user | Veterinary technician (application, dressing changes) and, post-discharge, the owner | Technically straightforward application reported in a 7-dog canine series [6] | Application support specifically for "seals, leaks, and dressing construction" is marketed as a distinct paid service by at least one US veterinary NPWT vendor — implying this is a recurring enough operational problem to build a support line around, not merely a hypothetical one | — | [6][16] |
| Purchaser | Practice (equipment/rental) and/or owner (cash-pay per treatment) | — | Rental-or-purchase, quote-only pricing (no published rate found) from at least one named US veterinary NPWT rental/support vendor | Owner's own funds via the practice's bill, per candidate idea-002's own claim 11 finding that no third-party payer exists | [16]; §6 |
| Payer | None federal; pet insurance inconsistent, per the diabetes-monitoring dossier's own §6 finding for a different device category in the same no-payer structure | — | — | — | see veterinary-diabetes-glucose-monitoring.md §6 for the same structural point, independently applicable here |
| Patient / owner (animal) | Dog or horse with a distal-limb wound | Shorter healing time and fewer complications reported in the one canine comparative series located [5] | In horses, discomfort/pain requiring euthanasia after surgery was recorded in 2 of 42 cases in the largest equine case series (see §5 for the full figure and the important caveat that this is not necessarily NPWT-attributable) | — | [5][9] |
Gaps: no source separates veterinary-technician incentives from veterinarian incentives specifically for NPWT (as opposed to wound care generally); no source addresses clinic-side markup or margin on a rented or purchased NPWT system.
as_of: 2026-08-27 · sources searched: connectors literature/literature-detail (canine and equine NPWT case-series and comparative-study queries listed in §10), one non-PubMed veterinary review page fetched directly · not searched: AAHA/ACVS wound management guidelines (no full-text guideline document located or fetched; not attempted this pass, distinct from the diabetes dossier's own 403-blocked AAHA attempt)
| Item | What it establishes | Evidence quality (design, n, endpoint) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Guideline position | Not retrieved — no ACVS or AAHA wound-management guideline document was fetched this pass | — | not retrieved |
| Comparative result, canine, general wound care | NPWT halved time to wound closure versus a foam dressing, and both beat conventional bandaging, in a retrospective matched comparison | Retrospective multicentre matched-pairs, n=50 dogs total (bandage n=7, NPWT n=18, foam n=25); significantly fewer complications with NPWT than foam (p=0.008), significantly less sepsis (p=0.016) | [5] |
| Feasibility result, canine, this candidate's exact indication (free skin grafts, distal extremity) | Portable single-use canister-free NPWT achieved 100% graft survival in a small retrospective series; "minor complications consisted of fluid accumulation in the evacuation tubing" | Retrospective case series, n=7 dogs, no comparator arm | [6] |
| Comparative result, canine, general cutaneous wounds, this candidate's exact form factor (PICO 1.6) | A pilot comparative study found the device feasible but reported control wounds better on every reported macroscopic/histologic measure; already independently verified at abstract depth in candidate idea-002 claim 9 | Pilot experiment, n=5 Beagles, hemithorax wounds (not distal limb), 14 days | [11] |
| Comparative result, equine, this candidate's exact anatomical site (distal limb) | NPWT gave significantly less early wound retraction than calcium alginate in noncontaminated wounds and no difference in contaminated wounds; already independently verified at abstract depth in candidate idea-002 claim 20 | Controlled experiment, n=10 horses (contralateral-limb design), short exposure windows (9 and 6 days) | [10] |
| Case series, equine, mixed wound types including distal limb | NPWT used successfully for various limb wound types over a mean 11.5-day application; healing "satisfactory at discharge" in 69% (29/42); 26% (11/42) discharged before NPWT was considered ideally complete; 2/42 euthanized post-surgery for unrelenting pain (not stated as NPWT-attributable) | Retrospective case series, n=42 horses, no comparator arm | [9] |
| Commentary/negative finding, equine, isolated NPWT | A 2026 commentary describes a 3-horse case series (Schnierer et al., cited secondhand — not independently retrieved) in which isolated PICO-system NPWT "was not sufficient to stimulate the healing process," with no reduction in wound size observed; the same commentary states "recent reviews of the literature concluded that, to date, there is no solid evidence on best practices and many results are controversial" for equine distal-limb wound healing generally | Commentary/review citing a small case series not independently verified here | [14] |
Read the fourth and fifth rows the same way candidate idea-002's own Verifier already reads them: both are this candidate's exact anatomical site and both report a negative or equivocal direction, not merely a caveat. Nothing here licenses reading the canine skin-graft feasibility result [6] as neutralizing that, since it is a different indication (grafted wounds, not general cutaneous or non-grafted distal-limb wounds) and has no comparator arm at all.
Verbatim, for anything load-bearing:
"Wounds treated with NPWT suffered significantly less complications (p = 0.008) and were significantly less septic during treatment (p = 0.016) than wounds treated with a foam dressing." — [5], PMID 25449799
"Application and maintenance of the portable device was technically easy and no major complications were encountered. Minor complications consisted of fluid accumulation in the evacuation tubing." — [6], PMID 27569833
"In 69% (n = 29) of the cases, healing was considered satisfactory at discharge. 26 % (n =
- of horses were discharged whilst ideally NPWT should have been continued. 2 animals (n
= 2; 5%) were euthanized after surgery due to unrelenting pain." — [9], PMID 34670699
"the isolated use of NPWT (PICO® system) was not sufficient to stimulate the healing process, as the authors did not observe a reduction in wound size, indicating impaired healing" ... "recent reviews of the literature concluded that, to date, there is no solid evidence on best practices and many results are controversial." — [14], quoted as retrieved from the commentary's own text, describing a case series this dossier did not independently retrieve
Gaps: no canine or equine randomized controlled trial of NPWT versus conventional bandaging was located — every comparative canine/equine source above is retrospective, matched-pair, or a small controlled experiment, not an RCT. No source with a head-to-head canister-based-versus-canister-free comparison in either species was found. The Schnierer case series [14] was not independently retrieved or verified — recorded here as a secondhand description from a commentary, not as an appraised primary source.
as_of: 2026-08-27 (built this pass) · sources searched: connectors literature/ literature-detail (queries in §10), connectors recalls --product-code OMP, connectors clearances --product-code OMP, connectors clearance-summary K211318, web search followed to vendor pages · not searched: MAUDE narratives (no connector in this repo, docs/backlog.md 1.9); veterinary-specific complaint/recall channel (none exists — no US federal dataset covers veterinary devices at all, stated plainly per this repo's known constraint)
The load-bearing section, worked hardest per the task brief. Three incumbents are relevant here: the practice being displaced (conventional bandaging), the canister-based human NPWT systems already on the market and occasionally used off-label or by rental in veterinary practice (3M/KCI V.A.C., Smith & Nephew RENASYS), and the canister-free single-use human NPWT system this candidate is explicitly positioned against and that is already being used off-label in dogs and horses (Smith & Nephew PICO).
| Signal | Quantity (n, population, date) | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Slower healing relative to NPWT | Total time to wound closure significantly shorter with NPWT than with conventional bandage (bandage n=7 dogs, NPWT n=18 dogs, matched pairs, 2015) | [5] |
| Equine distal-limb-specific complication predisposition | Second-intention healing on the equine distal limb is described as prone to "exuberant granulation tissue, and consequent delay in epithelialisation" independent of which dressing is used | [14] |
"Total time to wound closure was significantly shorter in Group C [foam] compared to Group A [bandage] (p = 0.02) and in Group B [NPWT] compared to Group C (p = 0.003)." — [5], PMID 25449799
| Signal | Quantity (n, population, date) | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Canister/dressing-connector/tubing-related device recalls, as a share of all recalls for this product code | 19 of 37 (51%) FDA device recalls for product code OMP (2011-08-31 to 2026-08-27) name a canister, dressing-connector, or tubing defect in their own stated reason — leaking, particulate contamination, sterile-barrier breach, O-ring/connector mating failure, fluid/blood not evacuated with the pump blockage alarm failing to alert | [4], openFDA device/recall, queried 2026-08-27 |
| A single recurring canister failure mode named across multiple recall events | Black particulate matter from a canister's carbon filter entering the pump, risking pump damage (2 recall records, Smith & Nephew RENASYS EDGE canisters, 2024) | [4], Z-1596-2024, Z-1597-2024 |
| A dressing/blockage-alarm failure mode named across 6 recall events for one company/product family | Wound fluid and/or blood not evacuated from beneath the dressing, with the pump's own blockage alarm failing to indicate the problem (Smith & Nephew RENASYS Soft Port family, 6 recall records, initiated 2014-01-09) | [4], Z-1157-2014 through Z-1162-2014 |
| Leak-alarm complaint volume as a stated recall trigger | "Due to increase in complaints related to leak alarms," FDA root cause "Device Design" (3M V.A.C. VIA, 2025) | [4], Z-1176-2025 |
| Human patient-level nonadherence rate | 20% of patients ceased NPWT prematurely at their own request, citing experienced limitations in daily activities, in a retrospective clinical-setting study | [2], PMID 33581961 |
| Human patient preference finding | Patients interviewed preferred professionals make treatment decisions and did not want responsibility for wound self-management; NPWT was reported to influence patients' daily lives as one of four emergent themes | [3], PMID 40358217, n=10 patients, qualitative interview study |
"Due to increase in complaints related to leak alarms" — [4], FDA recall reason, Z-1176-2025 (3M V.A.C. VIA Negative Pressure Wound Therapy System)
"Black particulate matter from the carbon filter component of the canisters entering the NPWT pump and potentially causing damage to the pump" — [4], Z-1596-2024/Z-1597-2024
"Reports of wound fluid and/or blood that were not evacuated from beneath the wound dressing and the pump blockage alarm did [not alert]" — [4], Z-1157-2014 (text as returned by the connector; truncated in the source record itself)
"20% ceased NPWT prematurely because of experienced limitations in daily activities." — [2], PMID 33581961
Read this the way this repo's other dossiers read an abandonment record: the recall record is evidence that the canister component specifically is a repeat, named point of device failure across at least three different manufacturers' product lines (3M/KCI, Smith & Nephew, Cardinal Health, Medela all appear in the full 37-record set — see §10) over a 15-year window — not evidence that a canister-free replacement would avoid every failure mode a canister introduces, since dressing-connector and tubing-blockage failures (the mechanism this candidate's own dressing/drape is built around) recur too [4]. It is also not evidence that veterinary clinicians would switch to a canister-free product — that is a class-3 question and its twin is addressed below.
veterinary-diabetes-glucose-monitoring.md §5).
| Signal | Quantity (n, population, date) | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Minor operational failure mode, canine, this exact device | "Minor complications consisted of fluid accumulation in the evacuation tubing" | [6], n=7 dogs, 2016 |
| Discharge before treatment goal met, equine | 26% (11/42) of horses discharged while NPWT was still considered ideally indicated | [9], n=42 horses, 2021 |
| Adhesive-attachment limitation, equine, secondhand from a commentary | "difficulties were reported with the dressing design, mainly related to the adhesive component, which would not be suitable for use on open wounds" in horses (as summarized by a secondary review, not independently verified here) | search-result summary of [14]'s cited literature, not independently retrieved — recorded as such |
| Comparative inferiority signal, canine, this exact device (PICO 1.6) | Control wounds outperformed NPWT on every reported macroscopic/histologic measure in a pilot study; already independently verified at abstract depth in candidate idea-002 claim 9 | [11], n=5 Beagles, hemithorax, 2022 |
| Comparative inferiority signal, equine, this candidate's exact site | Significantly less wound retraction (unfavorable direction) with NPWT than calcium alginate in noncontaminated wounds; already independently verified in candidate idea-002 claim 20 | [10], n=10 horses, 2022 |
| Isolated-use insufficiency, equine, secondhand | "the isolated use of NPWT (PICO® system) was not sufficient to stimulate the healing process" | [14], describing a 3-horse case series not independently retrieved |
| Recalls of the identical or closely related physical product family | No FDA recall record naming "PICO" was found among the 37 product-code-OMP recalls retrieved (2011-2026); the recalls in this window that name a specific product all name RENASYS, V.A.C., Cardinal Health, or Medela product lines, not PICO — recorded as an absence, not as evidence of superior reliability | [4], full 37-record set, queried 2026-08-27 |
"Application and maintenance of the portable device was technically easy and no major complications were encountered. Minor complications consisted of fluid accumulation in the evacuation tubing." — [6], PMID 27569833 (repeated from §4 because it is the load-bearing abandonment-adjacent line for this specific incumbent)
Read this in both directions, per this repo's own standard for this kind of evidence. The complication and equivocal-outcome record above is real, measured evidence that the off-label incumbent this candidate is positioned against has documented failure modes at this candidate's exact site in both species — not evidence that a purpose-built veterinary canister-free device engineered around fur adhesion and a limb-conforming interface would fix them, and not evidence that clinicians would switch. A device engineered around exactly the adhesive/dressing-interface failures named here might address them or might not; nothing here tests that, the same caveat the diabetes-monitoring dossier states for its own analogous comparison.
Class-3 question this section deliberately does not answer, and its twin: "Would veterinarians adopt a purpose-built veterinary canister-free device over continuing to use off-label human PICO or canistered systems?" is unanswerable and is not answered here (see §9). Its revealed-behaviour twin — the documented complication, discontinuation, and equivocal-outcome record of the off-label incumbent already in use — is answered, above.
Gaps: no veterinary-labeled competing product (Aluco Guardian, GluCurve-style purpose- built devices — see §8) has any published complication or accuracy/outcome literature located in this pass; MAUDE narratives are unreachable (no connector); no data on what fraction of US veterinary practices offer any form of NPWT versus bandage-only.
as_of: 2026-08-27
No third-party payer exists for veterinary devices in the US, the same structural fact the diabetes-monitoring dossier records for a different device category — see veterinary-diabetes-glucose-monitoring.md §6 for the fuller treatment of why hcpcs, payment, coverage, and procedures are all structurally blind to animal care, not merely silent on this specific device. What a veterinary "reimbursement" section can actually contain, and what was found here:
| Item | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Codes in use (HCPCS; CPT only if licensed) | None apply — no federal payer reaches veterinary devices | inference from independently re-verified 21 CFR 807.65(b) [21], the same regulatory structure candidate idea-002's own claim 2 rests on |
| Payment rate / fee schedule | Not applicable | — |
| Coverage policy (NCD/LCD, commercial) | Not applicable (federal); commercial pet-insurance policy documents not reviewed this pass | not reviewed |
| Site-of-service differential | Not applicable | — |
| Whose budget it comes out of | Owner's own funds, cash-pay through the practice; at least one US NPWT vendor's veterinary channel operates on rental-or-purchase with card/PayPal/Venmo/ACH payment, consistent with a direct-pay model | [16] |
| Owner out-of-pocket cost context | No published per-treatment or per-unit price found for veterinary NPWT (rental or purchase); the one vendor page located is quote-only | [16] |
Gaps: commercial pet-insurance coverage-policy documents for wound-care devices specifically — not reviewed this pass (would need the same human-attached Trupanion/Nationwide/ASPCA policy review the diabetes-monitoring dossier names as its own open item). No veterinary fee-benchmark survey (AAHA/AVMA practice economics) was reviewed for what a practice can pass through to an owner for an adjunct wound device — the same gap candidate idea-002's own Scores table already names for its TAM component 2.
as_of: 2026-08-27
| Change | When | What it enabled | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canister-free single-use NPWT (PICO) reaches the market and iterates | PICO 7/14 cleared under K211318, 2022-01-05 | The canister-free, absorbent-dressing form factor this candidate's own design is built on, as an off-label veterinary analog already in published use | [17], K211318; [18] |
| Continued new entry into canister-based and canister-free NPWT under product code OMP | 103 total 510(k) clearances found under product code OMP in the 10-year window queried (2016-2026); 50 most recent inspected directly | A steady stream of new competitors and product iterations (ConvaVAC, CURASYS 2, Nisus, Wound Geni, Genadyne ASTRA, Prospera Spectruum, extriCARE, and continuing RENASYS/V.A.C. iterations) — this is a counted series and, per this repo's own rule, cannot carry a confidence tag or be scored from; it lives here as context only | [17], openFDA device/510k, product_code=OMP, queried 2026-08-27 |
| Purpose-built veterinary NPWT vendors appear | Aluco Guardian (UK), launch date not stated on its own site; The Wound Vac Company veterinary channel states operating "since 2009" | A dedicated veterinary NPWT commercial channel (rental, purchase, and application support) exists independent of any single candidate, in at least one non-US and one US vendor | [15][16] |
Note per this repo's own template instruction: the 510(k) clearance count above is a counted series and cannot be scored from (docs/backlog.md 1.10).
Gaps: no patent-landscape check was run here (candidate idea-002's own claims 5-7 already carry this gap — PATENTSVIEW_API_KEY unset, and the live canister-free/dressing-interface FTO risk is unsearched by construction of the patent connector). No membrane/dressing chemistry literature specific to fur-compatible or limb-conforming adhesives was located — consistent with candidate idea-002's own moat claim (claim 16) being unchecked.
as_of: 2026-08-27 · sources searched: openFDA recalls/clearances on product code OMP, web search followed to vendor primary pages
| Player | Position | Entered / exited | Recent activity (funding, launch, recall) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smith & Nephew (PICO) | Dominant off-label canister-free incumbent by literature volume in both species | Human product; never entered the US veterinary market as a labeled product | K211318 clearance 2022-01-05 (human indication only); no PICO-named recall found in the 37-record OMP recall set 2011-2026 | [17][18][4] |
| 3M/KCI (V.A.C. family) | Canister-based conventional human incumbent, also used off-label/by rental in veterinary practice | Long-established human product line | Multiple recalls in the OMP set 2011-2026, including a 2025 leak-alarm-complaint-driven recall (Z-1176-2025) and a 2020 unannounced-power-off recall (Z-2542-2020) | [4] |
| Smith & Nephew (RENASYS family, canister-based) | Canister-based conventional human incumbent, distinct product line from PICO | Long-established human product line | Most canister/dressing-connector recall events in the OMP set trace to this product family (see §5) | [4] |
| Aluco Health (Aluco Guardian NPWT System) | The only identified purpose-built veterinary-labeled NPWT product found in this pass | UK-based; site markets to "Vet clinics, hospitals and pet owners" in the UK and EU — non-US, jurisdiction mismatch noted explicitly | Case studies posted (dog bite injuries, oncology resections, orthopedic procedures, necrotizing fasciitis) but no peer-reviewed accuracy or complication data found; no price disclosed; no FDA regulatory status stated on the page | [15] |
| The Wound Vac Company | US veterinary NPWT rental/sales and "application support" vendor, operating since 2009 per its own site, serving multiple species including equine and canine | US-based, ongoing | Offers dedicated technical support for "seals, leaks, and dressing construction" — a vendor-disclosed signal, not a peer-reviewed one, that these are recurring operational problems worth a paid support line | [16] |
What this section explicitly does not record as fact: a web search for a "pet diabetes care devices market" figure was named as deliberately excluded in the diabetes-monitoring dossier for the same reason a "veterinary wound care market" figure would be excluded here — no comparable market-sizing report was pulled into this dossier because none was independently sourced and appraised this pass; if one surfaces later it should be named and explicitly not used, the same way the diabetes dossier's §8 records it.
Gaps: no funding data for Aluco Health or any purpose-built veterinary NPWT vendor was retrieved. No recall or complaint channel exists for a veterinary-only device (structural, per §6), so no complaint record for Aluco Guardian or GluCurve-style products can ever be established through a US federal source.
| Question | Class (1 registry / 2 published / 3 stakeholder-future) | What would settle it | Reachable by? |
|---|---|---|---|
| What is the current US population of dogs and horses with distal-limb wounds severe enough to warrant NPWT or free skin grafting? | 2 | A US veterinary EHR/claims study (VetCompass US, Veterinary Medical Database, Banfield/Mars State of Pet Health) scoped to distal-limb trauma or degloving injuries | Not reachable by any connector in this repo; not located by web search in this pass either — see §1 |
| Does a species-specific (fur-compatible, limb-conforming) adhesive/dressing design reduce the adhesive-attachment failure and premature-discontinuation rates documented for off-label PICO use in horses and dogs (§5)? | 2, in principle, once such a product exists with published data | A comparative or single-arm complication study of a purpose-built veterinary canister-free NPWT device (Aluco Guardian or a successor) | Not yet — no such literature was found; Aluco Guardian has no published accuracy/complication literature as of this pass |
| Would veterinary surgeons switch from off-label human PICO (or canistered V.A.C./RENASYS) to a purpose-built veterinary canister-free unit? | 3 | Nothing. Not answerable | Nobody — its twin is §5's off-label PICO and canister-based abandonment/complication record, which is answered above |
| Would owners pay several hundred dollars out of pocket for an adjunct veterinary NPWT device on top of a surgical bill? | 3 | Nothing. Not answerable | Nobody — no revealed-behaviour twin was located for veterinary owner cash-pay willingness specifically (unlike the diabetes-monitoring dossier, which has an owner-survey twin for a different device category); this is recorded as an open class-3 question with no available twin, not merely as unanswerable in principle |
| Is the equine-specific finding that isolated NPWT does not reduce wound size (secondhand, [14]) reproducible, and does it generalize beyond the small case series it is drawn from? | 2 | Independent retrieval and appraisal of the Schnierer et al. case series (not retrieved in this pass) and any follow-up equine RCT | Partially — the commentary citing it was retrieved directly; the underlying case series itself was not |
| What patents, if any, block a new entrant on canister-free/superabsorbent NPWT or fur-compatible adhesive/dressing-interface chemistry? | 1 | patent connector, once PATENTSVIEW_API_KEY is set, against specific patent numbers from a human-commissioned FTO landscape search | Blocked today — a credential gap, mirroring candidate idea-002's own claims 5-7 |
Class-3 questions are recorded here and never answered here, per this repo's own rule.
| Section | as_of | How it was gathered | Never checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 Epidemiology | 2026-08-27 | connectors literature (4 queries, listed above); no hits generalizable to this candidate's population | Banfield/Mars, VetCompass US, Veterinary Medical Database, AAEP/ACVS caseload reports |
| 2 Care pathway | 2026-08-27 | Reused abstracts from §4/§5 sweeps (PMIDs 25449799, 27569833, 34670699, 34115409) | US practice-level site-of-service mix, visit frequency, staffing |
| 3 User groups | 2026-08-27 | Reused from §4/§5/§8 sources; one vendor page fetched directly for the operator-support finding | clinic-side economics, technician-specific incentives, veterinary-specific owner cost-burden survey |
| 4 Clinical evidence | 2026-08-27 | connectors literature/literature-detail on the PMIDs listed below, abstract depth; one review page (BEVA/Wiley) fetched directly | ACVS/AAHA wound-management guideline full text (not attempted); the Schnierer et al. case series itself (only its secondhand description was retrieved) |
| 5 Reference products | 2026-08-27 | Same PMIDs as §4, plus connectors recalls --product-code OMP (37 records, full set inspected), connectors clearance-summary K211318, two vendor pages fetched directly | MAUDE narratives (no connector); a systematic multi-vendor veterinary price survey; any veterinary-specific recall/complaint channel (none exists) |
| 6 Reimbursement | 2026-08-27 | Inference from independently re-run regulation 807.65 [21]; one vendor page for the cash-pay/payment-method finding | commercial pet-insurance policy documents (Trupanion/Nationwide/ASPCA) for wound-care devices specifically |
| 7 Technology | 2026-08-27 | connectors clearances --product-code OMP (103 total matches, 10-year window, 50 most recent records inspected); connectors clearance-summary K211318 | membrane/dressing-adhesive chemistry literature specific to fur-compatible or limb-conforming interfaces; patent landscape (credential-blocked, same gap as candidate idea-002) |
| 8 Market players | 2026-08-27 | Web search followed to primary vendor pages (alucohealth.com, thewoundvaccompany.com/veterinary); openFDA recalls/clearances reused from §5/§7 | funding data for Aluco Health or any purpose-built veterinary NPWT vendor; any veterinary-specific recall channel (none exists) |
Queries run against connectors literature in this pass (for anyone re-running this): "negative pressure wound therapy canister leak dressing failure," "single use negative pressure wound therapy discontinuation dressing," "PICO negative pressure wound therapy systematic review," "negative pressure wound therapy adverse events complications review," "vacuum assisted closure device complications dressing failure," "negative pressure wound therapy safety FDA bleeding death adverse event" (zero hits), "negative pressure wound therapy dog case series," "negative pressure wound therapy canine retrospective outcomes complications," "PICO single use negative pressure wound therapy randomized controlled trial device removed" (zero hits), "canister negative pressure wound therapy patient burden quality of life bulky noise" (zero hits), "negative pressure wound therapy quality of life patient experience," "PICO negative pressure wound therapy diabetic foot ulcer randomized" (request failed, HTTP 429, not retried), "negative pressure wound therapy horse retrospective case series," "equine distal limb wound healing second intention bandaging," "canine distal limb degloving wound incidence" (zero hits), "equine limb wound incidence trauma prevalence," "dog traumatic wound emergency presentation incidence veterinary," "equine wound trauma UK veterinary practice prevalence VetCompass" (zero hits), "cost negative pressure wound therapy veterinary practice economics" (zero hits), "Schnierer negative pressure wound therapy punch grafting horses" (zero hits), "equine wound healing distal limb review best practice evidence" (zero hits).
What this dossier has never looked at: MAUDE narratives (no connector exists in this repo, docs/backlog.md 1.9); any US veterinary epidemiology source outside PubMed's index (Banfield/Mars, VetCompass US, the Veterinary Medical Database — none reachable by connector, none located by web search this pass); the ACVS or AAHA wound-management guideline full text (not attempted, distinct from a 403-blocked attempt); the Schnierer et al. equine case series itself, only its secondhand description via a commentary; commercial pet-insurance policy text for any named insurer; a patent landscape search (credential-blocked); funding or company-financial data for any purpose-built veterinary NPWT vendor; a direct attempt at theveterinarynurse.com, which returned HTTP 403 and is recorded as not retrieved, the same class of failure this repo already names for fda.gov and aaha.org. Absence of scanning is not absence of change, and a later reader should treat §1 (epidemiology) and most of §6 (reimbursement) as a starting point, not as coverage.
product_code=OMP, window 2011-08-31 to 2026-08-27, queried via
python3 -m connectors recalls --product-code OMP --since 15y on 2026-08-27; 37 records
retrieved and inspected in full. Individual record IDs cited inline: Z-1176-2025,
Z-0507-2025, Z-0516-2025, Z-1596-2024, Z-1597-2024, Z-2542-2020, Z-1157-2014 through
Z-1162-2014, Z-1067-2014, Z-1068-2014, among others in the full set.
https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfRES/res.cfm
product_code=OMP, queried via `python3 -m connectors
clearances --product-code OMP --since 10y` on 2026-08-27; 103 total matches, 50 most
recent records inspected, including K211318 (Smith & Nephew PICO 7/14, cleared
2022-01-05).
knowledge-base/domains/veterinary-diabetes-glucose-monitoring.md — this repo's other
veterinary domain dossier, cited for its parallel treatment of the no-federal-payer
structure (§6) and its owner-survey abandonment-record method (§5), not as a source of
fact about this domain's own population.
, run 2026-08-27 → status verified`, source_ref eCFR versioner title-21, issue
2026-08-19, section=807.65. Independently re-run for this dossier; the same section is
already independently verified in candidate idea-002 claim 2.