Research report

A research report is the sourced material a domain dossier is synthesized from — generated on a plan and a cadence, one topic per file. A report carries no confidence tags. Its bracketed markers say who might have an incentive to shade a line; none of them says anyone checked it. To reach a score, a line has to be drafted onto a candidate as unverified and pass the Verifier or the Corroborator, like everything else.

Section market-players · Version 2026-09-13 · Cadence monthly · Evidence class mixed · Sources 9 · Supersedes none

Domain: canine-equine-distal-limb-wounds · Scope: Public primary sources reachable by this repo's connectors, WebSearch and WebFetch — specifically the public-facing catalog search and product-category pages of Covetrus, Patterson Veterinary, and Midwest Veterinary Supply, plus their public supplier-facing pages. Excludes account-gated pricing/SKU views (all three catalogs require a practice login to see contract pricing and some SKUs), CPT (Current Procedural Terminology) descriptors, veterinary datasets, fda.gov guidance documents, and anything behind an unset PATENTSVIEW_API_KEY.

Sourcing: rests on nine directly-fetched pages — six live catalog search/category results from the three named distributors' own sites, one FDA (US Food and Drug Administration) GUDID (Global Unique Device Identification Database) device record, one direct-to-practice veterinary NPWT (negative-pressure wound therapy) vendor's own page, and one distributor supplier-facing page — no connector in this repo indexes distributor SKU catalogs, so every line here is a single-source primary-page observation.

Major US veterinary distributor catalogs and canister-free NPWT — what is listed today

1. Summary

This report answers the revealed-behaviour twin of REQ-0017/claim 26, not the original question (see §5). As of the access date, none of the three named distributors' public catalog searches — Covetrus, Patterson Veterinary, or Midwest Veterinary Supply — returned a negative-pressure wound therapy (NPWT) product of any kind, canistered or canister-free, under "wound vac," "PICO (population, intervention, comparator, outcome)," or "negative pressure" [1][2][3][4][5][6]. A canister-free/portable veterinary NPWT product line does already reach US veterinary practices, but through a direct-to-clinic vendor rather than through any of the three named distributors [7]. A single canister-free NPWT component, KCI's SNAP therapy cartridge, carries an FDA Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID) record establishing it as a real, currently-marketed device [8]. No evidence was retrieved either way on whether that or any other canister-free SKU is carried in an account-gated tier of the three distributors' catalogs that this report's tools cannot see.

2. What Changed

_Baseline (v1). No prior version; this establishes the starting point for future diffs._

3. Details

The three named distributors' own catalogs, searched directly

Covetrus's public wound-care category page lists three SKUs under "Woundcare Other" — a bitter-taste deterrent spray (SKU 2801490) and two sizes of Manuka honey wound gel (SKUs 2800417, 2800418) — and no NPWT device of any kind [1]. A direct query against Covetrus's "Treatment and Recovery" category returned the message "Your search returned 0 results. Please try a different search term" [2]. [single-source]

Patterson Veterinary's public catalog search returned "No Search Results Found" for the query "wound vac" [3] and again for "PICO" [4]. [single-source]

Midwest Veterinary Supply's public catalog search for both "wound vac" and "PICO" returned no product results at all — only seven unrelated instructional videos (grooming technique, companion-animal content, a supplement brand's how-to series) [5][6]. [single-source]

A canister-free/portable veterinary NPWT line already reaches US practices — outside these three distributors

The Wound Vac Company's public veterinary page describes a "WoundPro" NPWT system (a Control Unit, a "WoundPro+" variant, and a portable "MicroDoc" unit) available "for rental or purchase, with equipment and supplies stocked in our Florida and Atlanta warehouses," alongside a separate "WoundPro® Canisters" consumable line, and states the company provides direct application support by phone, text, and email to veterinary teams [7]. [single-source · manufacturer] This is a direct vendor-to-clinic channel, not a listing inside any of the three named distributors' catalogs — none of the six searches above surfaced it or any comparable product.

A canister-free NPWT component is a registered, currently-marketed device

FDA's GUDID carries a live record for a SNAP-branded therapy cartridge — "Snap Therapy System Snap 125mmHg Therapy Cartridge 60ml," company KCI USA, Inc., primary DI 00849554006058 — a single-use, portable (non-electric-canister) NPWT format distinct from the canistered pumps the domain dossier's incumbent record already covers [8]. This establishes that a canister-free NPWT product category exists in a US federal device database with an identifiable device; it does not establish that this specific device, or any veterinary-labeled equivalent, appears in any of the three named distributors' catalogs — the searches in the section above found no such listing.

Public vendor-onboarding terms

Covetrus is the only one of the three with a public supplier-facing page reachable by search — "Supplier Network" — and that page, fetched directly, names existing supplier categories and distribution-center counts but states no admission criteria, minimum-volume commitment, or private-label program terms for a new SKU. Patterson Veterinary's and Midwest Veterinary Supply's supplier/vendor-onboarding pages, if they exist publicly, were not located by search.

4. Sources

[1] Woundcare Other — Covetrus Branded Products (Covetrus product catalog; accessed 2026-09-13). Category page products.covetrus.com/wound-care/woundcare-other, SKUs 2801490, 2800417, 2800418 — https://products.covetrus.com/wound-care/woundcare-other [manufacturer]

[2] Treatment And Recovery — Covetrus North America (Covetrus product catalog; accessed 2026-09-13). Category page northamerica.covetrus.com/product-categories/treatment-and-recovery; a catalogue category listing carries no product number of its own. [no-identifier] — https://northamerica.covetrus.com/product-categories/treatment-and-recovery [manufacturer]

[3] Search results for "wound vac" — Patterson Veterinary (Patterson Veterinary catalog; accessed 2026-09-13). Catalogue searched on the accessed date to establish that it lists none; a search has no identifier, and it is cited here for an absence rather than for a product. [no-identifier] — Search page pattersonvet.com/Search?SearchTerm=wound+vac — https://www.pattersonvet.com/Search?SearchTerm=wound+vac [manufacturer]

[4] Search results for "PICO" — Patterson Veterinary (Patterson Veterinary catalog; accessed 2026-09-13). Catalogue searched on the accessed date to establish that it lists none. [no-identifier] — Search page pattersonvet.com/Search?SearchTerm=PICO — https://www.pattersonvet.com/Search?SearchTerm=PICO [manufacturer]

[5] Search results for "wound vac" — Midwest Veterinary Supply (Midwest Veterinary Supply catalog; accessed 2026-09-13). Catalogue searched on the accessed date to establish that it lists none. [no-identifier] — Search page midwestvetsupply.com/search?q=wound+vac — https://www.midwestvetsupply.com/search?q=wound+vac [manufacturer]

[6] Search results for "PICO" — Midwest Veterinary Supply (Midwest Veterinary Supply catalog; accessed 2026-09-13). Catalogue searched on the accessed date to establish that it lists none. [no-identifier] — Search page midwestvetsupply.com/search?q=PICO — https://www.midwestvetsupply.com/search?q=PICO [manufacturer]

[7] Veterinary — The Wound Vac Company (company page; accessed 2026-09-13; no publication date stated on the page). An undated corporate page; no registrar issues one. [no-identifier] — https://thewoundvaccompany.com/veterinary [manufacturer]

[8] DEVICE: SNAP (00849554006058) — AccessGUDID, National Library of Medicine (federal device registry; record last-updated date not stated on the fetched page; accessed 2026-09-13). GUDID primary DI 00849554006058 — https://accessgudid.nlm.nih.gov/devices/00849554006058 [federal-registry]

[9] Supplier Network — Covetrus (Covetrus corporate page; accessed 2026-09-13; no publication date stated on the page). An undated corporate page; no registrar issues one. [no-identifier] — https://covetrus.com/covetrus-platform/products-and-supplies/supplier-partner/ [manufacturer]

5. Sourcing & Gaps

Well established: None. Every observation here rests on a single fetch of one party's own page; no line in this report is corroborated by two independent non-affiliated sources.

Thin: All six distributor-catalog observations [1]-[6] rest on one search or category fetch each against that distributor's own site and carry [single-source]. The Wound Vac Company finding [7] carries [single-source · manufacturer] — it is the company's own description of its own products and channel. The GUDID record [8] is a federal registry entry and is stated plainly, but it establishes only that the device exists and is registered, not that it is carried by any distributor.

Rescoped from class 3: The original question, from REQ-0017 (candidate idea-002, claim 26): "Based on direct outreach or a comparable newly-listed veterinary device SKU's terms, would at least one major US veterinary distributor (Covetrus, Patterson Veterinary, or Midwest Veterinary Supply) list and carry a veterinary-labeled, canister-free NPWT SKU?" This is a stakeholder-future/business-decision question (what a distributor would do with an unbuilt SKU) and is not answered here. The twin substituted and answered above: "Do Covetrus, Patterson Veterinary, or Midwest Veterinary Supply's public online catalogs already list any canister-free/single-use NPWT product today — an off-label human PICO SKU or any veterinary wound-vac product — and what does the existing US channel for veterinary NPWT supply look like?" No direct outreach to any distributor was performed, per this report's contract.

Out of scope: Account-gated distributor pricing and SKU views were not reachable — all three sites limit some catalog depth and contract pricing to logged-in accounts, and this report used only public search and category pages. Patterson Veterinary's and Midwest Veterinary Supply's supplier/vendor-onboarding pages, if any exist, were out of scope in the sense that this report used public search rather than any distributor account to locate them.

Not searched vs. not found: Covetrus's public "Supplier Network" page was searched and retrieved [9] — that is a not found (the page exists and was read; the information sought, supplier onboarding/admission criteria, is absent from it). By contrast, KCI's own "Animal Health" clinical-solutions page (mykci.com), which a search snippet suggested markets SNAP directly to veterinarians, was attempted twice by direct fetch and once via a web-archive snapshot; all three attempts failed (two HTTP 505 responses, one tool-level block on web.archive.org) — that finding is not retrieved, not confirmed, and is not stated as fact anywhere above. Distributor searches beyond the terms "wound vac," "PICO," and "negative pressure" (e.g., "V.A.C.," "3M," "Solventum," "SNAP," "Talley," "Venturi") were not searched against any of the three catalogs.

[inference] Six empty-result searches across two query terms per distributor are consistent with none of the three currently stocking an NPWT product of any kind in their public catalog, but a public search returning nothing cannot rule out an account-gated or special-order SKU invisible to an unauthenticated fetch; the honest reading is "not found in the public catalog," not "not carried."

6. Claim Candidates

PropositionEvidence classResolvable identifierDossier section
Covetrus's public wound-care catalog category "Woundcare Other" lists no negative-pressure wound therapy device, as of 2026-09-132 publishedhttps://products.covetrus.com/wound-care/woundcare-other (SKUs 2801490, 2800417, 2800418 shown)market-players
Patterson Veterinary's public catalog search returns no results for "wound vac" or "PICO," as of 2026-09-132 publishedhttps://www.pattersonvet.com/Search?SearchTerm=wound+vac ; https://www.pattersonvet.com/Search?SearchTerm=PICOmarket-players
Midwest Veterinary Supply's public catalog search returns no product results for "wound vac" or "PICO," as of 2026-09-132 publishedhttps://www.midwestvetsupply.com/search?q=wound+vac ; https://www.midwestvetsupply.com/search?q=PICOmarket-players
A KCI SNAP 125mmHg therapy cartridge (60 ml) is registered in FDA's GUDID under primary DI 008495540060581 registryGUDID DI 00849554006058market-players
A direct-to-veterinary-practice vendor (The Wound Vac Company) offers a canister-based "WoundPro" NPWT system for rental or purchase outside the three named distributor channels2 publishedhttps://thewoundvaccompany.com/veterinarymarket-players
Words on this page5 abbreviation(s) and code(s), with what each stands for — copied from _shared/plain-language.md
CPT
Current Procedural Terminology — the US billing codes for what a clinician does; owned by the American Medical Association
FDA
US Food and Drug Administration — the US regulator that clears or approves a device before it can be sold
GUDID
Global Unique Device Identification Database — the FDA's public list of marketed devices by their identifier
NPWT
negative-pressure wound therapy — sealing a wound under an airtight dressing and applying gentle suction to help it heal
PICO
population, intervention, comparator, outcome — the four parts of a well-posed clinical question