Research report
A research report is the sourced material a domain
dossier is synthesized from — generated on a plan and a cadence, one topic per file.
A report carries no confidence tags. Its bracketed markers say who might have
an incentive to shade a line; none of them says anyone checked it. To reach a score, a line has
to be drafted onto a candidate as unverified and pass the Verifier or the
Corroborator, like everything else.
Section reimbursement · Version 2026-09-20 · Cadence annual · Evidence class mixed · Sources 7 · Supersedes none
Domain: canine-equine-distal-limb-wounds · Scope: Public, non-licensed US pet-insurance policy wording and its statutory
Sourcing: Rests on two insurers' own public descriptions of their reimbursement
Two of the four US pet insurers named in this row describe reimbursement as a function of the veterinary invoice or bill itself rather than of any procedure code: ASPCA/Crum & Forster states that "Complete Coverage℠ reimbursements are based on the invoice" [2], and Healthy Paws states that "Reimbursements are based on your actual veterinary bills" [1]. California's pet-insurance disclosure statute, which governs what a pet insurer must publish about its own claim arithmetic, recognises exactly three bases — a disclosed "basis or formula," a disclosed benefit schedule, and a disclosed usual-and-customary determination — and names no procedure-coding system at all [6][7]. No retrieved US policy wording this pass excludes negative-pressure wound therapy, wound-care adjunct devices, or an "experimental/investigational" category in terms that reach open, contaminated or free-skin-grafted distal-limb wounds. That is an absence of retrieved wording, not a grant of coverage; each insurer's position is recorded below as stated or as SILENT, and Trupanion's and Nationwide's exclusion lists were not retrieved at all.
_Baseline (v1). No prior version; this establishes the starting point for future diffs._
ASPCA Pet Health Insurance's own coverage page draws the distinction explicitly and in two directions: "Complete Coverage℠ reimbursements are based on the invoice," against "Preventive care coverage reimbursements are based on a schedule" [2] [manufacturer]. The same page names the underwriters as "Independence American Insurance Company (NAIC #26581), or United States Fire Insurance Company (NAIC #21113)" [2] [manufacturer]. ASPCA's veterinary-facing FAQ describes the submission mechanics as records-and-invoice rather than coded: "Typically the pet owner pays the veterinarian at the time of service, and then the pet owner submits a claim for reimbursement," with the instruction "Please include 12 months of medical records with your submission" [3] [manufacturer]. No procedure code is named anywhere on either page [2][3].
Healthy Paws' coverage-and-exclusions page states the basis in one sentence: "Reimbursements are based on your actual veterinary bills" [1] [manufacturer].
Nationwide is SILENT on this question in the material retrieved. Its pet page on nationwide.com states only "We'll reimburse you for eligible expenses once you've met your annual deductible" [5] [manufacturer], and petinsurance.com — where its plan documents and sample forms live — returned HTTP 403 for every URL tried, HTML and PDF alike (see §5).
Trupanion's adjudication basis is not reported here. The document that describes it was retrieved but is not citable under this fleet's identifier vocabulary; see §5.
The statutory frame is the strongest non-directional line available. California Insurance Code § 12880.2 requires, before sale, that a pet insurer "clearly disclose a summary description of the basis or formula on which the insurer determines claim payments"; where a benefit schedule is used, that the insurer "clearly disclose the applicable benefit schedule in the policy"; and where usual-and-customary fees are used, that the policy "clearly describe the insurer's basis for determining usual and customary fees and how that basis is applied in calculating claim payments" [6] [single-source]. Section 12880's definitional list — thirteen defined terms, (a) through (m), covering items such as "chronic condition," "pet insurance," "preexisting condition," "veterinary expenses" and "wellness program" — contains no definition of a benefit schedule, a usual-and-customary basis, or any procedure-coding system [7] [single-source].
ASPCA/Crum & Forster states three exclusions verbatim on its coverage page: "Pre-existing conditions occur before coverage begins or during a waiting period. These conditions are not covered"; "Our plans do not cover elective procedures, such as tail docking, ear cropping, and claw removal"; and "Our plans do not cover costs associated with breeding or pregnancy" [2] [manufacturer]. The elective exclusion is exemplified only by cosmetic procedures. The page is SILENT on experimental or investigational treatment, on devices, and on wound care [2]. Its veterinary FAQ adds one further exclusion — "our policies exclude treatment when the veterinarian conducting or supervising the treatment is you, a co-owner on your account, or an immediate family member" — and is otherwise SILENT on device or wound-care categories [3] [manufacturer].
Healthy Paws states: "Pre-existing conditions are not covered under our insurance policy"; "Preventive healthcare is not covered. This includes vaccinations or titer test, parasite/flea control, heartworm medication, de-worming, nail trim, grooming, anal gland expression, spaying and neutering and dental healthcare"; "The plan does not reimburse the costs, fees or expenses associated for elective procedures, boarding, behavioral modification, training, therapy or medications for behavioral modification"; and "Examination fees are not covered under our insurance policy" [1] [manufacturer]. On a verbatim-targeted second retrieval of the same page, devices, prosthetics, experimental or investigational treatment, bandaging and wound care appear nowhere in the exclusions section — Healthy Paws is SILENT on all of them [1] (see §5 on a first-pass reading that said otherwise).
Nationwide is SILENT: the only exclusion wording retrieved is the disclaimer "Some exclusions may apply. Certain coverages may be excluded due to pre-existing conditions. See policy documents for a complete list of exclusions" [5] [manufacturer]. The referenced policy documents were not reachable.
Trupanion's exclusion list was not retrieved this pass and no position is recorded for it. ASPCA publishes state-by-state sample policies and disclosures, but the landing page enumerates no PDF links or form numbers in the content returned [4] [manufacturer].
[1] "Coverage & Exclusions Details" — Healthy Paws Pet Insurance (no publication or revision date shown on the page; accessed 2026-09-20). An undated insurer-hosted marketing/coverage page carrying no policy form number and no registrar identifier; the filed form it summarises was not reachable. [no-identifier] — https://www.healthypawspetinsurance.com/pet-insurance-coverage-and-exclusions.html [manufacturer]
[2] "What Does Pet Insurance Cover?" — ASPCA Pet Health Insurance (no publication or revision date shown on the page; accessed 2026-09-20). Undated insurer-hosted coverage page; no form number or registrar identifier appears on it, and the underwriters it names carry company codes rather than the page carrying one. [no-identifier] — https://www.aspcapetinsurance.com/research-and-compare/pet-insurance-basics/whats-covered/ [manufacturer]
[3] "Vet Services FAQs" — ASPCA Pet Health Insurance, veterinary-facing site (no publication or revision date shown on the page; accessed 2026-09-20). Undated insurer-hosted FAQ page; no registrar issues one an identifier. [no-identifier] — https://vet.aspcapetinsurance.com/faqs/ [manufacturer]
[4] "Sample Policies and Insurance Disclosures" — ASPCA Pet Health Insurance (no publication or revision date shown on the page; accessed 2026-09-20). Undated insurer-hosted index page, retrieved on this date to establish what it does and does not enumerate; no registrar identifier exists for it. [no-identifier] — https://www.aspcapetinsurance.com/more-info/state-documents-and-sample-policies/ [manufacturer]
[5] "Pet Health Insurance" — Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company (no publication or revision date shown on the page; accessed 2026-09-20). Undated insurer-hosted product page; no form number or registrar identifier appears on it. [no-identifier] — https://www.nationwide.com/personal/insurance/pet/ [manufacturer]
[6] California Insurance Code section 12880.2 (pet insurance; required disclosures) — California Legislative Information, State of California (published date not given on the section page, which shows the codified text as in force; accessed 2026-09-20). A codified statute section: the citation in this entry's title is the section's own number, and no registrar issues a separate document number for it — this fleet's identifier vocabulary admits federal US Code, public-law and CFR citations but has no slot for a state-code analogue. [no-identifier] — https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=INS§ionNum=12880.2 [other]
[7] California Insurance Code section 12880 (pet insurance; definitions) — California Legislative Information, State of California (published date not given on the section page; accessed 2026-09-20). Same class as the entry above: a codified state statute section, cited by its own section number in this entry's title, with no registrar-issued document number and no slot in this fleet's identifier vocabulary. [no-identifier] — https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=INS§ionNum=12880. [other]
Well established: Only the statutory frame is non-directional, and it rests on one publisher (the California Legislature) across two sections, so it is marked [single-source] rather than left plain [6][7]. Nothing in this report rests on two independent, non-affiliated primary sources: the two insurer statements on adjudication basis [1][2] are two different companies describing their own products, which is corroboration of a pattern but is directional in each instance and stays marked [manufacturer] however many of them agree.
Thin: Every insurer-specific line. Healthy Paws [1], ASPCA [2][3][4] and Nationwide [5] rest on undated, insurer-hosted HTML pages with no form number. All seven sources carry a declared absence of a registry identifier on their lines — five because an undated corporate page has no registrar behind it, and two because a codified state statute section is cited by its own section number and this fleet's closed vocabulary has no slot for one. That is a high proportion and is the direct consequence of the PDF and 403 failures below. No filed policy form was read this pass.
Rescoped from class 3: None. Both halves of this row as posed — what an insurer's published wording says about adjudication, and what its exclusion list says — are class-2 document questions. The adjacent class-3 question ("would an insurer pay for NPWT (negative-pressure wound therapy)?") was not researched and has no answer in this report; what is recorded instead is what wording exists and where wording is absent.
Out of scope:
stress-urinary-incontinence, ctdna-mrd-assay-validation and
internal-hemorrhoids-office-based-treatment reports in this tree. A refresh that wants the
Trupanion adjudication line should reach it through an insurer-hosted or filed-form route, not
through EDGAR.
out-of-scope-licensed boundary — were not touched; this report deliberately uses only public
insurance policy wording and public law, per the row's scope note.
Not searched vs. not found:
maine.gov/pfr/insurance/.../exhibit-a-1.pdf — the row's named highest-value route — was
fetched successfully and returned a 4.2 MB application/pdf that this environment could not
convert to text; local PDF page rendering is also unavailable here (pdftoppm not installed).
Nothing from that filing is reported. The NAIC "A Regulator's Guide to Pet Insurance"
(content.naic.org, 767 KB PDF) failed the same way. Two further PDFs (a third-party-hosted
Nationwide plan summary, and Healthy Paws form WFIC LD-51186 (08-18), which returned 404)
likewise yielded nothing. Every PDF route attempted this pass failed; readers should treat
the absence of filed-form wording here as an environment limit, not as evidence that filed
forms say nothing.
www.trupanion.com returned HTTP 403 on every path tried
(/pet-insurance/pet-insurance-coverage, /pet-insurance-faq/article/view-sample-policy, and
/docs/... sample-policy PDFs), as did intrs-www3.trupanion.com; prodrs.trupanion.com does
not resolve. www.petinsurance.com returned HTTP 403 on every path tried, HTML
(/plan-restrictions/, /faq/) and PDF (VS-G-2 (2-17), VS-G-11-CA (10-18)) alike.
Consequently Trupanion's and Nationwide's exclusion lists are not reported at all, and
Nationwide's adjudication basis is recorded as SILENT on the one page that was reachable [5].
[inference] Two, both flagged as the writer's own synthesis and neither stated by any source. (i) If reimbursement is computed from the invoice line items a veterinary practice actually bills, then a device with no assigned procedure code is not thereby outside the adjudication mechanism, because the mechanism does not consult a code set at all — which, if it holds, is the reasoning that idea-002's claims 55/56 would need to survive; the sources here establish the invoice basis for two insurers [1][2] and establish that the governing California disclosure statute names no code set [6][7], but no source states the conclusion. (ii) A first, summary-level retrieval of the Healthy Paws page [1] reported that "devices/prosthetics" were excluded; a second retrieval of the same URL, asking for literal strings, found no such wording in the exclusions section. The devices line is therefore not reported as a finding, and the discrepancy is recorded here so a later pass re-reads that page rather than trusting either summary.
| Proposition | Evidence class | Resolvable identifier | Dossier section |
|---|---|---|---|
| ASPCA Pet Health Insurance's published coverage page states that "Complete Coverage℠ reimbursements are based on the invoice," while preventive care reimbursements are "based on a schedule" | 2 published | ASPCA Pet Health Insurance, "What Does Pet Insurance Cover?", https://www.aspcapetinsurance.com/research-and-compare/pet-insurance-basics/whats-covered/ (accessed 2026-09-20) | reimbursement |
| Healthy Paws' published coverage-and-exclusions page states "Reimbursements are based on your actual veterinary bills" | 2 published | Healthy Paws Pet Insurance, "Coverage & Exclusions Details", https://www.healthypawspetinsurance.com/pet-insurance-coverage-and-exclusions.html (accessed 2026-09-20) | reimbursement |
| California Insurance Code section 12880.2 requires a pet insurer to disclose the "basis or formula on which the insurer determines claim payments," any applicable benefit schedule, and any usual-and-customary basis, and names no procedure-coding system | 1 registry | California Insurance Code section 12880.2 | reimbursement |
| California Insurance Code section 12880's thirteen pet-insurance definitions, (a) through (m), include no definition of a benefit schedule, a usual-and-customary basis, or a procedure-coding system | 1 registry | California Insurance Code section 12880 | reimbursement |
| Healthy Paws' published exclusions list names pre-existing conditions, preventive healthcare, elective procedures, boarding, behavioral modification, training and examination fees, and does not name negative-pressure wound therapy, wound-care devices, prosthetics, or experimental or investigational treatment | 2 published | Healthy Paws Pet Insurance, "Coverage & Exclusions Details", https://www.healthypawspetinsurance.com/pet-insurance-coverage-and-exclusions.html (accessed 2026-09-20) | reimbursement |
| ASPCA Pet Health Insurance's published elective-procedure exclusion is exemplified only by tail docking, ear cropping and claw removal, and its published coverage page names no exclusion for experimental or investigational treatment or for devices | 2 published | ASPCA Pet Health Insurance, "What Does Pet Insurance Cover?", https://www.aspcapetinsurance.com/research-and-compare/pet-insurance-basics/whats-covered/ (accessed 2026-09-20) | reimbursement |
| Nationwide's public pet-insurance product page states only that "Some exclusions may apply" and directs the reader to policy documents, naming no exclusion category relevant to wound care | 2 published | Nationwide, "Pet Health Insurance", https://www.nationwide.com/personal/insurance/pet/ (accessed 2026-09-20) | reimbursement |
_shared/plain-language.md