Research report

A research report is the sourced material a domain dossier is synthesized from — generated on a plan and a cadence, one topic per file. A report carries no confidence tags. Its bracketed markers say who might have an incentive to shade a line; none of them says anyone checked it. To reach a score, a line has to be drafted onto a candidate as unverified and pass the Verifier or the Corroborator, like everything else.

Section epidemiology · Version 2026-09-01 · Cadence annual · Evidence class 2 published · Sources 10 · Supersedes none

Domain: veterinary-diabetes-glucose-monitoring · Scope: Public primary sources reachable via this repo's `literature`/`literature-detail` PubMed

Sourcing: Ten single-institution or single-country peer-reviewed studies, plus one

Condition, prevalence, incidence and trend direction — veterinary diabetes glucose monitoring

1. Summary

Feline and canine diabetes diverge in natural history in a way the domain dossier's population-level prevalence figures do not capture: a substantial minority of diabetic cats achieve treatment remission, while canine diabetes — understood as beta-cell loss — remits only rarely, and chiefly when a reversible driver such as a diestrus- or pregnancy-related hormonal state is resolved [1][2][3][4]. Independent of remission, hypersomatotropism (acromegaly) recurs as a secondary, insulin-resistance-driving comorbidity across three unaffiliated national cohorts of diabetic cats, each finding a prevalence in the mid-to-high teens [5][6][7]. Diabetic ketoacidosis remains a substantial acute complication: in two non-overlapping single-hospital cohorts roughly a decade apart, close to two in five affected cats died despite treatment, a mortality burden not obviously reflected in the dossier's own falling long-run hospital case-fatality trend for the underlying disease [8][9]. A 2025 professional consensus guideline — retrieved here at full-text depth, unlike the AAHA guideline the dossier and a sibling report could not get past a paywall or a 403 — states that diabetes prevalence in cats is "thought to be increasing," reports remission incidence figures ranging from 11% to over 60% across different studies, and cites a hypersomatotropism prevalence of one in three to one in five diabetic cats, a range that sits somewhat above the individual national cohorts below [10]. None of the findings here establishes a current, US-specific population figure; that gap, already recorded in the dossier after two research passes, is unchanged by this report.

2. What Changed

_Baseline (v1). No prior version; this establishes the starting point for future diffs._

3. Details

Natural history: feline diabetic remission versus rare canine remission

Diabetic remission — a period of sustained euglycemia off insulin — is a documented, if variable, outcome in cats but not in dogs, a distinction the dossier's population-prevalence figures do not surface and one directly relevant to monitoring intensity, since a species that can spontaneously reverse into hypoglycemia risk needs a different watch than one that will not. A cross-sectional questionnaire study of Swedish-insured diabetic cats (1,369 owners mailed, 477 questionnaires returned, a 35% response rate) found:

"The remission rate among treated cats was 29% (118/405)." — PMID 36637031 [single-source]

A 2014 systematic review of 22 studies on feline diabetic remission, following Cochrane Collaboration methodology, found the underlying evidence too heterogeneous to produce a reliable rate:

"The current level of evidence was found to be moderate to poor... A lack of well-designed trials prevents reliable remission rate comparison." — PMID 25312717 [single-source]

Canine remission, by contrast, is reported as rare and mechanistically distinct. A retrospective study of 117 female dogs with diabetes mellitus at one referral center found:

"Out of 117 female dogs diagnosed with CDM, six diabetes remission cases were identified and described after resolution of diestrus (1), or after ovariohysterectomy for pregnancy (1), ovarian remnant syndrome (1), and pyometra (3)." — PMID 23164637 [single-source]

That is 6/117 (5.1%), and every case followed resolution of a reproductive-cycle-linked insulin-resistant condition rather than occurring spontaneously. A single case report of spontaneous remission without an identifiable trigger states the same mechanistic distinction plainly:

"Although diabetic remission often occurs in cats and humans, the presumed etiopathogenesis of pancreatic beta cell loss makes remission rare in dogs, except for cases occurring with diestrus or pregnancy." — PMID 38240130 [single-source]

A quantifiable secondary driver of feline diabetes: hypersomatotropism

Three independent, unaffiliated national cohorts, none citing or building on the others, each screened diabetic cats for hypersomatotropism (an insulin-antagonistic pituitary tumor syndrome) via serum IGF-1 and found a broadly similar order of magnitude, though not identical point estimates or assay cutoffs. An Australian cohort (n=87 diabetic cats, IGF-1 cutoff 1,000 ng/mL) found:

"The absolute prevalence of IGF-1 was 16%; therefore, the prevalence of hypersomatotropism... in an Australian population is estimated to be in the range of 9.5-24.9%." — PMID 41215559 [single-source]

A Buenos Aires referral-center cohort (n=154 diabetic cats, same IGF-1 cutoff plus pituitary imaging for borderline cases) found:

"Twenty (12.9%) cats had IGF-1 concentrations >1000 ng/ml, and three (1.9%) had IGF-1 concentrations between 800 and 1000 ng/ml along with pituitary enlargement on CT, resulting in a 14.9% HST prevalence rate in diabetic cats." — PMID 36779783 [single-source]

A German cross-sectional cohort (144 diabetic cats total, 97 with IGF-1 measured, a lower 746 ng/mL cutoff tied to a different chemiluminescence assay) found:

"17.5% (n = 17/97) had increased IGF-1." — PMID 39772828 [single-source]

Read together, these three studies plainly support the qualitative point that hypersomatotropism recurs as a common secondary diagnosis in diabetic cats across geographically and institutionally unrelated populations [5][6][7] — but the specific rates (16%, 14.9%, 17.5%) use two different assay cutoffs and do not fully agree numerically with the range independently cited by the 2025 consensus guideline below, which is wider and shifted higher.

A 2025 consensus guideline, retrieved at full-text depth

Unlike the AAHA 2018 guideline this domain's dossier and a sibling clinical-evidence report each recorded as blocked by a 403, the iCatCare 2025 consensus guideline on feline diabetes was retrieved directly as an open-access PubMed Central article. Its introduction frames the condition's trend direction in general terms only, without a specific figure:

"Diabetes mellitus (DM) is one of the most common endocrinopathies in cats, with prevalence thought to be increasing." — PMID 41224734 [single-source]

On the same comorbidity addressed above, the guideline's own literature synthesis states a wider, higher range than any of the three individual cohorts:

"HST is thought to occur in between 1 in 3 and 1 in 5 cats with DM, and is the leading cause of clinically relevant insulin-resistant DM in cats." — PMID 41224734 [single-source]

On remission, the guideline corroborates the 2014 systematic review's conclusion that the published rate varies too widely across studies to state as one number, and adds a relapse figure not found elsewhere in this domain's record:

"Variable incidence rates for diabetic remission of 11% to over 60% have been reported in different studies... Between 13% and 40% of cats are reported to relapse, and a second remission seems generally less likely." — PMID 41224734 [single-source]

The guideline's own abstract states its evidence base plainly: "based on the available literature, expert opinion and the panel members' experience" — a synthesis document, not a primary study, and marked accordingly throughout this section.

Diabetic ketoacidosis: a persistent acute-mortality burden

Diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) is the disease's acute decompensated form, and two non-overlapping single-hospital cohorts, roughly a decade apart, each found substantial mortality among cats who presented in it. The earlier cohort (a university teaching hospital, location not stated in the abstract retrieved, cases from 1997-2007) enrolled 93 cats with DKA alongside 682 cats with uncomplicated diabetes and 16,926 non-diabetic cats at the same institution — DKA cats made up 93/(93+682), or 12.0%, of all hospital-diagnosed diabetic cats in that window — and found:

"Poor outcome (defined as death due to disease or by euthanasia) in 36 cats with DKA (39%) was associated with increased initial creatinine, BUN, total serum magnesium, and total bilirubin concentrations..." — PMID 25845506 [single-source]

A more recent cohort (institution and location likewise not stated in the abstract retrieved) of 68 cats with first-time DKA found a comparable mortality rate through a different scoring method:

"The APPLEfast and APPLEfull scores were significantly higher in non-survivors (30 cats; 24.6 ± 7.4 and 45.2 ± 7.3, respectively) compared with survivors (38 cats; 20.9 ± 6.2 and 41.7 ± 6.5; P = .01 and P = .02, respectively)." — PMID 39115406 [single-source]

That is 30 of 68 cats (44%) who did not survive. The two figures (39% in the 1997-2007 cohort, 44% in the more recent cohort) sit close together and do not show DKA-specific mortality falling over time in the way the dossier's own hospital case-fatality figures for diabetes overall fell across 1970-1999 — though the two measure different things (all hospital-presented diabetic animals at first visit, versus only the subset who decompensate into ketoacidosis) and neither source states a trend claim directly.

4. Sources

[1] Survival, remission, and quality of life in diabetic cats — Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine (published 2023-01; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 36637031 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/36637031/ [peer-reviewed] [2] Systematic review of feline diabetic remission: separating fact from opinion — The Veterinary Journal (published 2014-11; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 25312717 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25312717/ [peer-reviewed] [3] Diabetes mellitus remission after resolution of inflammatory and progesterone-related conditions in bitches — Research in Veterinary Science (published 2013-06; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 23164637 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23164637/ [peer-reviewed] [4] Spontaneous remission and relapse of diabetes mellitus in a male dog — Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine (published 2024, month given as Mar-Apr in the PubMed record; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 38240130 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/38240130/ [peer-reviewed] [5] Hypersomatotropism in diabetic cats in Australia — Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery (published 2025-11; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 41215559 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41215559/ [peer-reviewed] [6] Prevalence of hypersomatotropism and hyperthyroidism in cats with diabetes mellitus from referral centers in Buenos Aires (2020-2022) — Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery (published 2023-02; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 36779783 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/36779783/ [peer-reviewed] [7] Signalment, clinicopathological findings, management practices and comorbidities in cats with diabetes mellitus in Germany: cross-sectional study of 144 cases — Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery (published 2025-01; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 39772828 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/39772828/ [peer-reviewed] [8] Retrospective evaluation of risk factors and outcome predictors in cats with diabetic ketoacidosis (1997-2007): 93 cases — Journal of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care (published 2015, month given as Mar-Apr in the PubMed record; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 25845506 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25845506/ [peer-reviewed] [9] Feline acute patient physiologic and laboratory evaluation scores and other prognostic factors in cats with first-time diabetic ketoacidosis — Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine (published 2024, month given as Sep-Oct in the PubMed record; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 39115406 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/39115406/ [peer-reviewed] [10] iCatCare 2025 consensus guidelines on the diagnosis and management of diabetes mellitus in cats — Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery (published 2025-11; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 41224734 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41224734/ [guideline]

5. Sourcing & Gaps

Well established: Nothing here rests on two independent sources reporting the same figure. The closest is the qualitative point that hypersomatotropism recurs as a secondary driver of feline insulin resistance across three unaffiliated national cohorts [5][6][7], corroborated in kind (not in exact rate) by a fourth, independent professional-consensus synthesis [10] — stated plainly for that qualitative convergence, while every specific point estimate remains single-source.

Thin: Every specific quantity in this report is [single-source]: the 29% feline remission rate [1]; the systematic review's negative finding on rate comparability [2]; the 5.1% canine remission rate and its mechanistic tie to reproductive-cycle resolution [3]; the single canine case report [4]; each of the three national hypersomatotropism prevalence figures [5][6][7]; the guideline's own cited hypersomatotropism range, remission range, and relapse range [10]; and both DKA cohorts' proportion-in-DKA and mortality figures [8][9].

Rescoped from class 3: None in this report. Every proposition here is a measured cohort finding or a guideline's stated synthesis — none asks what a person would do.

Out of scope: CPT descriptors and any HCPCS/CMS material (human-payer constructs with no veterinary counterpart, per the dossier's reimbursement section); MAUDE narratives (no connector in this repo); a current US-specific population-prevalence figure, which the dossier's own two prior research passes already searched for exhaustively under many phrasings and did not find — not re-attempted a third time here, named specifically so a later reader sees the boundary rather than an unexplained absence.

Not searched vs. not found: A search for a canine-specific hypersomatotropism-equivalent comorbidity study (dogs do not develop feline-pattern acromegalic diabetes, but a search for an analogous canine secondary-cause prevalence figure — e.g., hyperadrenocorticism among diabetic dogs — was not run this pass) is not searched. The specific location/country of the two DKA cohort institutions [8][9] was not found in the abstracts retrieved; the full-text articles, which might name the institution, were not fetched this pass. A search for whether DKA-specific mortality has changed over time (a direct trend study, rather than this report's own comparison of two point-in-time cohorts) returned no PubMed record under the phrasings tried and is recorded as not found, not unsearched.

[inference] The observation that DKA-specific mortality (39% and 44% in two cohorts roughly a decade apart) does not appear to track the dossier's own falling hospital case-fatality trend for diabetes overall (dogs 37%→5%, cats 40%→10%, 1970-1999) is this writer's own juxtaposition of two separately reported figures measuring different populations (all diagnosed diabetic animals vs. only those who decompensate into ketoacidosis); no single source states that comparison or a DKA-specific trend directly, and it should not be read as a finding about trend direction on its own.

6. Claim Candidates

PropositionEvidence classResolvable identifierDossier section
In a Swedish cross-sectional cohort of insured diabetic cats, the remission rate among treated cats was 29% (118/405)2 publishedPMID 366370311. Condition & epidemiology
In a retrospective study of 117 female dogs with diabetes mellitus, 6 (5.1%) achieved remission, in every case following resolution of a reproductive-cycle-related insulin-resistant condition (diestrus, post-ovariohysterectomy, ovarian remnant syndrome, or pyometra)2 publishedPMID 231646371. Condition & epidemiology
The prevalence of hypersomatotropism among diabetic cats was estimated at 16% (14/87, 95% CI 9.5-24.9%) in an Australian cohort2 publishedPMID 412155591. Condition & epidemiology
The prevalence of hypersomatotropism among diabetic cats was 14.9% (23/154) in a Buenos Aires referral-center cohort2 publishedPMID 367797831. Condition & epidemiology
In a German cross-sectional cohort of 144 diabetic cats, 17.5% (17/97 tested) had IGF-1 concentrations above the study's hypersomatotropism cutoff2 publishedPMID 397728281. Condition & epidemiology
The 2025 iCatCare consensus guideline states hypersomatotropism occurs in between 1 in 3 and 1 in 5 cats with diabetes mellitus, and cites reported feline diabetic remission incidence rates of 11% to over 60% with 13%-40% relapsing2 publishedPMID 412247341. Condition & epidemiology
In a single-hospital cohort (1997-2007), 93 of 775 diagnosed diabetic cats (12.0%) presented in diabetic ketoacidosis, and 36 of those 93 (39%) died or were euthanized2 publishedPMID 258455061. Condition & epidemiology
In a cohort of 68 cats with first-time diabetic ketoacidosis, 30 (44%) did not survive2 publishedPMID 391154061. Condition & epidemiology