Research report

A research report is the sourced material a domain dossier is synthesized from — generated on a plan and a cadence, one topic per file. A report carries no confidence tags. Its bracketed markers say who might have an incentive to shade a line; none of them says anyone checked it. To reach a score, a line has to be drafted onto a candidate as unverified and pass the Verifier or the Corroborator, like everything else.

Section reimbursement · Version 2026-09-01 · Cadence quarterly · Evidence class mixed · Sources 6 · Supersedes none

Domain: stress-urinary-incontinence · Scope: HCPCS Level II codes and payer coverage policy only. CPT descriptors are AMA-licensed and are not reproduced anywhere below. Public primary sources reachable by WebSearch, WebFetch and this repo's typed connectors. Excludes CPT-coded billing (RTM 98977/98980/98981; PT visit codes 97110/97112-class), veterinary datasets, fda.gov guidance documents, non-US jurisdictions, and any CMS payment-rate or coverage-policy document this pass could not retrieve because the local cache does not exist in this checkout.

Sourcing: Rests on CMS's own Medicare Coverage Database record for NCD 230.8 (two versions) and its 2000 national coverage analysis, one DME MAC/PDAC coding-scope determination for HCPCS E0740, and one commercial payer's own coverage-policy page (Aetna); this pass reached the CMS coverage-database text directly by WebFetch where the domain dossier's own direct fetch attempt returned HTTP 403, but no CMS payment-rate document and no second commercial or Medicaid payer policy were independently retrieved.

Codes, payment rates, coverage policy, and whose budget it comes from — stress urinary incontinence

1. Summary

The single HCPCS Level II code covering this domain's prescription home devices is E0740, "incontinence treatment system, pelvic floor stimulator, monitor, sensor and/or trainer," and Medicare's own coding contractor states that the code was written to require a device that both stimulates and monitors — a monitoring-only device does not qualify. Medicare's coverage rule for E0740, NCD 230.8, dates to a 2000 national coverage analysis that found the pre-2000 evidence base insufficient on its own and conditioned coverage on cognitively intact patients first failing a documented four-week trial of pelvic muscle exercise; that threshold has not been superseded since its 2006 reissue. At least one commercial payer, Aetna, states a coverage position for the same code without printing that same four-week-failure precondition in its own criteria summary. No DMEPOS payment amount for E0740 was located this pass: this repository's hcpcs, payment and coverage connectors still return unconfirmed because no CMS fee-schedule or coverage-policy file has been cached in data/ in this checkout, the same block the domain dossier already recorded on 2026-08-27. Whose budget the device draws from is, on the evidence found, Medicare Part B's DME benefit or a commercial payer's own DME-equivalent benefit, processed through the DME MAC/PDAC apparatus that assigned and interprets the code.

2. What Changed

_Baseline (v1). No prior version; this establishes the starting point for future diffs._

3. Details

HCPCS coding — E0740, and what it does and does not cover

HCPCS E0740 is described identically, in the exact wording, on Medicare's DME pricing, data-analysis and coding (PDAC) contractor's own code-review article and on a commercial payer's own coverage page: "Incontinence treatment system, pelvic floor stimulator, monitor, sensor and/or trainer" [5][6]. Two non-affiliated sources agree on that descriptor text, so it is stated plainly here. The PDAC's own scope determination is single-source: the contractor states that "HCPCS code E0740 is intended to describe non-implantable pelvic floor electrical stimulators with integrated monitoring capabilities," and that "devices limited to only muscle monitoring capability (i.e., without electrical muscle stimulation capability) were not intended to be included in E0740" [5] [single-source]. The same article states the code's history: it was originally used in the 1980s for a TENS-device battery, was discontinued in 1988, and was reassigned to its current, incontinence-specific narrative on 1995-01-01, concurrent with CMS's work toward what became NCD 230.8 [5] [single-source].

Medicare coverage policy — NCD 230.8

CMS's own National Coverage Analysis tracking sheet for CAG-00021N records that a request for a national coverage analysis of pelvic floor electrical stimulation for urinary incontinence was accepted 2000-01-31, referred to the Medicare Coverage Advisory Committee's Medical and Surgical Procedures Panel, which met 2000-04-13 and found "evidence was not adequate to draw conclusions about the effectiveness of PFES compared to placebo," with the panel's findings ratified 2000-06-06 and a final decision memorandum issued 2000-10-05 [3]. That decision established NCD 230.8, whose first version took effect 2001-04-01 [1] and whose current version has been in effect since 2006-06-19 with no later version found this pass [2]. The operative coverage language, read directly from CMS's own record rather than a secondary summary, is: Medicare covers a non-implantable pelvic floor electrical stimulator for "stress and/or urge urinary incontinence in cognitively intact patients who have failed a documented trial of pelvic muscle exercise (PME) training," with a failed trial defined as "no clinically significant improvement in urinary continence after completing 4 weeks of an ordered plan of pelvic muscle exercises designed to increase periurethral muscle strength" [2]. A separate CMS coverage-database page that indexes documents against the code itself confirms E0740 is the HCPCS code tied to this same national coverage analysis record [4]. Every fact in this paragraph traces to CMS's own documents, not to an independent second organization, and is marked accordingly in §5, but this pass reached the primary text directly — the domain dossier's own attempt at the same NCD page returned HTTP 403 five days earlier [1][2][3][4] [single-source].

Commercial payer coverage — a divergence from Medicare's threshold

Aetna's Clinical Policy Bulletin No. 0223, "Urinary Incontinence," states that Aetna "considers intravaginal electrical stimulation of the pelvic floor medically necessary for women with stress, urgency or mixed urinary incontinence," and separately lists E0740 as a covered code under its own pelvic-floor-stimulation criteria [6] [single-source]. The retrieved page's criteria summary for that indication does not itself state a prior four-week PME-failure requirement of the kind Medicare's NCD imposes — that absence is recorded as what was retrieved, not confirmed as a substantive policy difference, since the bulletin's full text runs well beyond the single indication extracted this pass and a fuller review could locate PME-related language elsewhere in the same document. The bulletin's own last-review or effective date was not stated on the retrieved page [6].

Whose budget, and the payment-rate gap

On the sources found, the device is billed to whichever DME benefit administers the patient's coverage: Medicare Part B's DME benefit under NCD 230.8, or a commercial payer's own DME-type benefit under a policy such as Aetna's [2][6]. HCPCS E0740 is assigned and its coding scope adjudicated by the PDAC, a Medicare DME pricing contractor, and claims for it are processed through a regional DME Medicare Administrative Contractor — Noridian Healthcare Solutions, per the jurisdiction path in its own PDAC article's URL [5]. No DMEPOS national payment amount for E0740 was located this pass: this repository's hcpcs, payment and coverage connectors each return unconfirmed for E0740 because data/hcpcs_level_ii.csv, data/hcpcs_payment_rates.csv and data/medicare_coverage_policies.csv do not exist in this checkout, and no publicly hosted, directly fetchable CMS fee-schedule document naming a specific E0740 rate was found by search this pass.

4. Sources

[1] National Coverage Determination 230.8, "Non-Implantable Pelvic Floor Electrical Stimulator," version 1 — CMS Medicare Coverage Database (effective 2001-04-01; accessed 2026-09-01). NCD 230.8 — https://www.cms.gov/medicare-coverage-database/view/ncd.aspx?ncdid=231&ncdver=1 [payer-policy] [2] National Coverage Determination 230.8, "Non-Implantable Pelvic Floor Electrical Stimulator," version 2 (current) — CMS Medicare Coverage Database (effective 2006-06-19; accessed 2026-09-01). NCD 230.8 — https://www.cms.gov/medicare-coverage-database/view/ncd.aspx?ncdid=231&ncdver=2 [payer-policy] [3] National Coverage Analysis Tracking Sheet, CAG-00021N, "Pelvic Floor Electrical Stimulation for Urinary Incontinence" — CMS Medicare Coverage Database (decision memo published 2000-10-05; accessed 2026-09-01). NCA CAG-00021N, underlying NCD 230.8 — https://www.cms.gov/medicare-coverage-database/view/ncacal-tracking-sheet.aspx?ncaid=61 [payer-policy] [4] National Coverage Analysis detail/search view for CAG-00021N cross-referenced to HCPCS E0740 — CMS Medicare Coverage Database (decision memo dated 2000-10-05; accessed 2026-09-01). HCPCS E0740; NCA CAG-00021N — https://www.cms.gov/medicare-coverage-database/view/nca.aspx?ncaid=61&SearchType=Advanced&CptHcpcsCode=E0740 [payer-policy] [5] "PDAC Code Review - E0740 Non-Implantable Pelvic Floor Electrical Stimulator" — Noridian Healthcare Solutions, JD DME (last updated 2023-11-10; accessed 2026-09-01). HCPCS E0740 — https://med.noridianmedicare.com/web/jddme/policies/dmd-articles/pdac-code-review-e0740-non-implantable-pelvic-floor-electrical-stimulator [payer-policy] [6] Clinical Policy Bulletin No. 0223, "Urinary Incontinence" — Aetna (date not stated on the retrieved page; accessed 2026-09-01). HCPCS E0740 — https://www.aetna.com/cpb/medical/data/200_299/0223.html [payer-policy]

5. Sourcing & Gaps

Well established: The HCPCS E0740 descriptor text, agreeing verbatim across a Medicare contractor page and a commercial payer page — two non-affiliated sources [5][6].

Thin: Everything specific to NCD 230.8 itself — its 2000-2001 origin, its 2006 reissue, and its four-week-PME-failure coverage criterion — rests on CMS's own documents only; four different CMS pages were read but they are one organization, not independent corroboration, so each is marked [single-source] in §3 [1][2][3][4]. The PDAC's stimulation-plus-monitoring scope determination for E0740 rests on the same contractor's own article alone [5]. Aetna's coverage stance and its apparent absence of a stated PME-failure precondition rest on one retrieved page extract, not a full read of Aetna's own document [6].

Rescoped from class 3: None. This report asked only registry and coverage-policy questions — what a code covers, what a coverage determination says, who administers it — not a question about what a person would do.

Out of scope: CPT-coded billing (Remote Therapeutic Monitoring codes 98977/98980/98981, and PT/biofeedback visit codes in the 97110/97112 and 90911 families) — AMA-licensed and excluded by the manifest's scope note, same as the domain dossier's own exclusion. Veterinary DME data and non-US coverage regimes did not arise and are named only per this repo's standing exclusions.

Not searched vs. not found: A DMEPOS national or regional payment amount for E0740 was searched for and not found in any directly fetchable, primary CMS document this pass; the CMS DMEPOS fee schedule is distributed as bulk data files and a dynamic Fee Schedule Look-Up Tool, neither of which this pass queried, so the correct record is "not retrieved," not "does not exist." Two other commercial payer coverage documents located by search (a Cigna coverage policy and a Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts medical policy naming E0740) were not retrieved this pass — the Cigna PDF's text did not extract cleanly through WebFetch and the BCBS-MA PDF returned HTTP 403 — and neither is cited above as a result. Whether E0740 appears on CMS's DMEPOS Prior Authorization Master List or Required Prior Authorization List was attempted and is not found in the retrieved excerpt of that list, which is not the same as a confirmed absence. State Medicaid fee schedules and coverage policies for E0740, beyond confirming that at least one state (West Virginia) publishes a DME fee schedule of some kind, were not searched for E0740 specifically.

[inference] None in this report. Every substantive line above traces to a document this pass actually retrieved; no synthesis beyond restating what the retrieved text says was written into §3.

6. Claim Candidates

PropositionEvidence classResolvable identifierDossier section
HCPCS E0740 is intended by the PDAC to describe only pelvic floor devices that combine electrical stimulation with integrated monitoring; a monitoring-only device does not qualify for the code1 registryHCPCS E0740, Noridian PDAC Code Review articlereimbursement
Medicare NCD 230.8 conditions coverage of a non-implantable pelvic floor electrical stimulator on a cognitively intact patient having failed a documented 4-week trial of pelvic muscle exercise1 registryNCD 230.8reimbursement
CMS's 2000 Medical and Surgical Procedures Panel found the evidence inadequate to draw conclusions about pelvic floor electrical stimulation's effectiveness compared to placebo, before CMS nonetheless established a conditional covered indication under NCD 230.8 later that year1 registryNCA CAG-00021Nreimbursement
Aetna Clinical Policy Bulletin No. 0223 lists HCPCS E0740 as covered when its own medical-necessity criteria for intravaginal pelvic floor electrical stimulation are met2 publishedHCPCS E0740, Aetna CPB No. 0223reimbursement