Research report

A research report is the sourced material a domain dossier is synthesized from — generated on a plan and a cadence, one topic per file. A report carries no confidence tags. Its bracketed markers say who might have an incentive to shade a line; none of them says anyone checked it. To reach a score, a line has to be drafted onto a candidate as unverified and pass the Verifier or the Corroborator, like everything else.

Section care-pathway · Version 2026-09-01 · Cadence annual · Evidence class 2 published · Sources 8 · Supersedes none

Domain: neonatal-hyperbilirubinemia-home-phototherapy · Scope: public primary sources reachable by this repo's connectors, WebSearch and WebFetch. Excludes CPT descriptors (AMA-licensed), fda.gov guidance documents and case law (publications.aap.org returned HTTP 403 to automated fetch, so the AAP guideline's own text is reached here only through a secondary peer-reviewed summary), and jurisdictions other than US and EU.

Sourcing: one peer-reviewed secondary summary of the AAP guideline's own home-phototherapy criteria, plus seven single-institution or single-country studies on practice adherence and post-discharge monitoring models — none independently corroborated by a second source

Care pathway, site of service, and what is already in the room — neonatal hyperbilirubinemia home phototherapy

1. Summary

The domain dossier already maps the broad shape of this pathway — birth-hospital screening, a threshold-based decision to start phototherapy, and a discharge point beyond which the 2022 AAP clinical practice guideline's own text on home-phototherapy conditions could not be retrieved directly, because publications.aap.org refuses automated fetches. This report closes part of that gap using a peer-reviewed secondary summary of the guideline's stated home-phototherapy eligibility, monitoring and admission criteria, and adds practice-pattern evidence on how consistently US pediatricians follow the guideline once a newborn is discharged. It also adds one US two-hospital pathway-redesign report with a measured readmission outcome, and several non-US studies describing nurse- or midwife-led home bilirubin-screening models that have no documented US equivalent in this pass. No new US-specific comparison of home versus inpatient phototherapy, and no source describing who in the US actually delivers, sets up or trains a caregiver on a home phototherapy device, was located this pass.

2. What Changed

_Baseline (v1). No prior version; this establishes the starting point for future diffs._

3. Details

What the 2022 AAP guideline itself specifies for home phototherapy

The dossier could not retrieve the AAP guideline's own text. A peer-reviewed summary of the guideline in American Family Physician, written by a physician who served on the AAP guideline committee, reproduces the guideline's home-phototherapy criteria as a checklist: gestational age of 38 weeks or more, at least 48 hours of age, clinically well appearing, feeding adequately, no known hyperbilirubinemia neurotoxicity risk factors, no prior phototherapy, and a serum bilirubin concentration no more than 1 mg/dL above the phototherapy-initiation threshold [1] [single-source]. The same summary states the guideline's admission trigger — "an infant receiving home phototherapy should be admitted if the bilirubin level increases or becomes 1 mg per dL or greater above the photo-therapy threshold" [1] [single-source] — and its post-phototherapy check timing: bilirubin measured within 6 to 12 hours for infants who received phototherapy within 48 hours of birth or have a positive direct antiglobulin test or known/suspected hemolytic disease, and for every infant the day after phototherapy is stopped, with routine follow-up intervals afterward ranging from about 4 to 24 hours up to 3 days depending on how close the bilirubin sits to the threshold [1] [single-source]. This is the clearest statement located this pass of what the pathway is supposed to require at the home-phototherapy step; the primary AAP document itself remains unretrieved.

How closely US practice follows that pathway, once a newborn is discharged

A 2024 survey of the New Jersey chapter of the AAP (120 of 128 respondents who care for neonates with hyperbilirubinemia, published 2026) found near-complete adherence to some elements of the guideline and a specific, large gap in another: "almost all of the respondents followed the AAP recommended post-discharge follow-up and/or bilirubin measurement," and most reported phototherapy initiation at the recommended thresholds, but only 12.5% of surveyed pediatricians followed the guideline's recommended threshold for phototherapy discontinuation [2] [single-source]. That single number — one in eight — is the sharpest evidence located this pass that the pathway's stop condition, not its start condition, is where guideline adherence breaks down in US outpatient practice.

A US two-hospital pathway redesign and its readmission outcome

A quality-improvement report from two partner hospitals in a Midwestern US health system — a birthing hospital with roughly 5,000 deliveries per year and a freestanding tertiary pediatric hospital — describes what changed in the room to align care with the 2022 guideline: "provider education, local clinical guidelines, and electronic medical record updates," including nomogram integration, order-set revisions and updated hemolysis-screening protocols [3] [single-source]. Across 10,620 deliveries and 104 hyperbilirubinemia readmissions over a 26-month period (January 2022 to February 2024), the mean monthly readmission count fell from 5.8 to 2.4 and the monthly readmission rate fell from 1.4% to 0.6%; mean days between occurrences of subthreshold (early) phototherapy initiation rose from 15.5 to 62.5 days, and average length of stay held steady at 21.5 hours [3] [single-source]. This is a single health system's own report of its own intervention, not an independently replicated finding, but it is the only US-specific care-pathway redesign with a measured readmission outcome found this pass.

Site-of-service and staffing models for post-discharge monitoring, outside the US

No US source located this pass describes a structured nurse- or midwife-led home bilirubin-screening program comparable to those documented abroad. In the Netherlands, a decision-analytic study of universal transcutaneous bilirubin (TcB) screening added to routine midwife home visits — 2,314 neonates across 9 midwifery practices, July 2021 to June 2023 — found that TcB identified 28 neonates above the treatment threshold who visual inspection alone had missed (absolute risk difference 28%, 95% CI 13-42%, p<.001), at a net cost saving of 15 euros (about 17 US dollars) per neonate [4] [single-source]. A separate prospective before-after study of a nurse-led home pathway adding TcB screening and teleconsultation to routine home visits — 1,236 infants, country not stated in the retrieved abstract — reported that among infants who would otherwise have been referred under usual visual-assessment practice (n=840), 81.9% of those referrals were avoided (95% CI 79.2-84.4%) while TcB still identified all 4 infants who ultimately needed phototherapy [5] [single-source]. In China, a retrospective cohort at one hospital (295 full-term neonates, 2022-2024) comparing a structured obstetric-nursing home-monitoring program (parental training, TcB meters, scheduled virtual follow-up) against standard discharge instructions found higher timely jaundice detection (91.2% vs 75.3%, p<.001), lower incidence of severe hyperbilirubinemia of 20 mg/dL or more (2.4% vs 10.0%, p=.011), and lower 7-day readmission (5.6% vs 14.1%, p=.009) in the intervention group [6] [single-source]. None of these three models has a published US counterpart in this pass, and a Dutch survey of the clinicians running one such program (16 pediatricians, 90 community midwives, 514 maternity care assistants) reports that "the lack of reimbursement options" and difficulty coordinating across the different professionals involved were the specific barriers named to implementation [7] [single-source] — a non-US finding, recorded here as directional context rather than a US finding.

4. Sources

[1] Hyperbilirubinemia in Newborns: Updated Guidelines From the AAP — American Family Physician (published 2023-06, day not given in the record; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 37327148 — https://www.aafp.org/pubs/afp/issues/2023/0600/practice-guidelines-hyperbilirubinemia-newborns.html [peer-reviewed] [2] Pediatricians' Practice Patterns on the Revised 2022 Neonatal Hyperbilirubinemia Guidelines — Pediatric Reports (published 2026-08-03; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 42646646 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/42646646/ [peer-reviewed] [3] A Partner Hospital Intervention to Decrease Readmissions for Newborn Hyperbilirubinemia — Pediatric Quality & Safety (published 2025-05/06 issue, day not given in the record; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 40444226 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/40444226/ [peer-reviewed] [4] Universal Transcutaneous Bilirubin Screening in a Midwifery-Led Home Care Setting — JAMA Network Open (published 2026-01-02; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 41525073 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41525073/ [peer-reviewed] [5] Home-Based Transcutaneous Bilirubin Screening and Telemedicine Reduce Neonatal Referrals — Neonatology (published 2026-02-09; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 41662349 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41662349/ [peer-reviewed] [6] Analysis of Obstetric Nursing Interventions for Home Monitoring of Neonatal Jaundice — Journal of Multidisciplinary Healthcare (published 2025, month not given in the record; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 41163717 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41163717/ [peer-reviewed] [7] Home phototherapy for neonatal hyperbilirubinemia: current practices and attitudes — Pediatric Research (published 2025-08, day not given in the record; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 39672825 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/39672825/ [peer-reviewed] [8] The application of pre-discharge delta total bilirubin to predict the need for post-discharge phototherapy in healthy neonates 35 weeks' gestation or later — BMC Pediatrics (published 2025-11-14; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 41239338 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41239338/ [peer-reviewed]

5. Sourcing & Gaps

Well established: nothing in this report rests on two independent, non-affiliated sources agreeing on the same specific finding. Every line above carries [single-source].

Thin: the guideline-criteria checklist in [1] is a secondary reproduction of the AAP's own text, not the primary document itself, and no second source was found this pass to confirm it reads the same way; the 12.5% discontinuation-threshold-adherence figure [2] is one state chapter's survey (New Jersey) and should not be read as a national US figure; the readmission outcome in [3] is one health system's report of its own quality-improvement intervention, without a control group outside the same two hospitals; [4], [5], [6] and [7] are non-US or of unconfirmed country ([5]'s abstract does not state where the study was conducted), and none has a documented US analog in this pass. [8]'s Thailand-based delta-total-bilirubin cohort (150 neonates) operationalizes the same pre-discharge-to-follow-up timing logic the AAP guideline uses, finding age 49-72 hours as the optimal window for the pre-discharge bilirubin measurement (AUC 0.851) and that 20.6% of the cohort required post-discharge phototherapy — but it is a single foreign-hospital cohort, not a US-population estimate.

Rescoped from class 3: "would US clinicians adopt a structured post-discharge home monitoring pathway if one were available?" is a class-3 question and was not asked. Its revealed-behaviour twin — how closely US pediatricians already follow the guideline they have, without any new device — was researched instead, and the answer is uneven: near-complete adherence to post-discharge follow-up and phototherapy-initiation thresholds, but only 12.5% adherence to the discontinuation threshold, per [2].

Out of scope: CPT-coded professional billing for home-phototherapy setup or caregiver training (AMA-licensed, not reproduced here); the AAP guideline's own primary text and its graded evidence tables, blocked by publications.aap.org returning HTTP 403 to automated fetches; and non-US/non-EU jurisdictions generally, though several non-US EU-region and non-EU sources are recorded here as context because the dossier already found the underlying literature dominated by non-US cohorts.

Not searched vs. not found: Not searched — who in the US delivers a home phototherapy device to a family (birth hospital, DME supplier, or courier), what caregiver training format is used, and whether any US health system runs a nurse-led or midwife-led home TcB-screening program comparable to [4]/[5]/[6]. Not found — a US-specific study of post-discharge follow-up timing analogous to [8], and a second, independent source corroborating any single figure reported above.

[inference] Grouping [4], [5] and [6] together as "site-of-service models with no documented US equivalent" is this report's own synthesis; no single source makes that comparison, and the absence of a US analog reflects what this pass's searches did not find, not a claim that none exists.

6. Claim Candidates

PropositionEvidence classResolvable identifierDossier section
The AAP's 2022 guideline restricts home phototherapy to infants of at least 38 weeks' gestation, at least 48 hours old, clinically well, feeding adequately, with no neurotoxicity risk factors, no prior phototherapy, and a bilirubin concentration no more than 1 mg/dL above the phototherapy threshold2 publishedPMID 373271482
In a 2024 survey of 120 New Jersey pediatricians caring for neonates with hyperbilirubinemia, only 12.5% reported following the AAP-recommended threshold for phototherapy discontinuation2 publishedPMID 426466462
A two-hospital Midwestern US quality-improvement initiative reduced the monthly newborn hyperbilirubinemia readmission rate from 1.4% to 0.6% (104 readmissions among 10,620 deliveries, January 2022-February 2024) after guideline-aligned EHR and order-set changes2 publishedPMID 404442262
Universal transcutaneous bilirubin screening added to midwife home visits for 2,314 Dutch neonates identified 28 above-threshold cases missed by visual inspection alone and saved 15 euros per neonate2 publishedPMID 415250732
A nurse-led home pathway adding transcutaneous bilirubin screening and teleconsultation avoided 81.9% of referrals that would otherwise have occurred among 840 baseline-eligible infants, with no missed phototherapy-requiring case2 publishedPMID 416623492