Research report

A research report is the sourced material a domain dossier is synthesized from — generated on a plan and a cadence, one topic per file. A report carries no confidence tags. Its bracketed markers say who might have an incentive to shade a line; none of them says anyone checked it. To reach a score, a line has to be drafted onto a candidate as unverified and pass the Verifier or the Corroborator, like everything else.

Section reference-products · Version 2026-09-01 · Cadence quarterly · Evidence class mixed · Sources 13 · Supersedes none

Domain: lower-extremity-lymphedema-compression-therapy · Scope: Public primary sources via connectors, WebSearch and WebFetch. This pass used the `classification`, `clearances` and `recalls` connectors, `literature`/`literature-detail`, and WebFetch of openFDA's `device/registrationlisting` endpoint directly (no typed connector in this repo reaches it). Excludes CPT descriptors (AMA-licensed), MAUDE adverse-event narratives (no connector reaches MAUDE, and the ad hoc device/event queries attempted this pass returned unrelated devices or an indistinguishable 404, disclosed in §5 rather than cited as findings), HCPCS/payment/coverage material and any dollar figure (scoped to this domain's reimbursement section), and jurisdictions other than US for registry queries. Retail and manufacturer pricing pages were searched and read but are not cited as findings because none carried a resolvable registry identifier.

Sourcing: one non-US, mixed CVI/lymphedema cohort study is the only located evidence directly measuring adjustable-wrap self-application pressure; FDA's Establishment Registration & Device Listing database, fetched directly since no connector in this repo reads it, confirms three of the domain's four named incumbents hold active device listings under one FDA product code, and typed-connector queries confirm zero clearances and zero recalls under that code and its flat-knit-stocking counterpart over the last ten years.

Reference products and why people stop using them — lower extremity lymphedema compression therapy

1. Summary

The domain dossier's §5 names two open items above the rest: whether patients actually apply an adjustable compression wrap at sub-therapeutic tension at home, and whether the four named incumbent wrap makers can be confirmed as commercially active. A prospective cohort study of 30 adults over 65 self-applying the Circaid Juxtalite — one of the dossier's own named incumbent products — found only 30% achieved the clinically recommended pressure by themselves, with obesity, gripping difficulty, cognitive impairment and low social status identified as limiting factors and age itself not among them [1]. FDA's Establishment Registration & Device Listing database, fetched directly this pass because no typed connector in this repo reaches it, shows active device listings for three of the four named incumbents — medi (Circaid), BSN/JOBST (FarrowWrap) and Sigvaris (Compreflex) — all under product code MDR, "Binder, Medical, Therapeutic," 21 CFR 880.5160 [2][4][5][6], distinct from the flat-knit-stocking code the dossier had provisionally associated with the whole category (FQL, 21 CFR 880.5780) [3]; no matching registration record was found under the fourth named incumbent's firm name, "Solaris" [7]. Typed-connector queries confirm zero 510(k) clearances and zero device recalls under either product code in the ten years to this report's run date [8][9][10][11]. A fifth adjustable-wrap brand not in the dossier's list and a small new trial of a compression-denim alternative round out the market picture [12][13].

2. What Changed

_Baseline (v1). No prior version; this establishes the starting point for future diffs._

3. Details

The dossier's single biggest gap, closed by one study: does self-application actually reach target pressure?

The dossier records, as its most consequential open question, whether patients home-applying an adjustable wrap actually achieve sub-therapeutic tension, and states plainly that no located study measures this directly. One study, not previously in this domain's file, measures exactly this for one of the dossier's own named incumbent products. A prospective cohort study selected "the first 30 retired subjects over 65 years of age" seen at home for routine nursing care by a private nurse, and asked each to self-apply a Circaid Juxtalite (Medi Italia S.r.l., Bologna, Italy — the supplier named in the abstract, suggesting a European rather than a US setting, though the study's own country is not stated in the retrieved abstract) to reach 40 mmHg at the calf, twice on one day and twice again the next. The paper reports:

"Thirty percent of the subjects put on the wrap by themselves with an average pressure of at least 30 mmHg. Age is not a limiting factor. Obesity, gripping difficulties, cognitive impairment and low social status seem to be factors limiting the daily self-management of an adjustable compression wrap in the elderly." — [1]

This is [single-source]: no second study measuring self-applied pressure against a numeric target for any adjustable wrap was located this pass or in the domain dossier's own prior pass. It is also a population mismatch worth stating exactly the way the dossier states its own abandonment-record mismatches: the cohort is described as being treated for "lymphedema and chronic venous insufficiency" together, not lymphedema alone; it is elderly (over 65) rather than the dossier's full working-age population; and the setting is very likely European, not US. With those three caveats attached, it is nonetheless the closest evidence yet located in this domain to the dossier's own §9 open question about whether patients can self-don any adjustable wrap at all, for the identical product (Circaid Juxtalite) the dossier's own frontmatter names.

The dossier's own 510(k) searches by brand name (circaid, FarrowWrap) returned database absence, correctly read there as a property of the 510(k)-exemption rather than evidence the products don't exist. This pass identifies which exempt product code the incumbents actually sit under. Two openFDA device classification queries, run directly with this repo's classification connector, confirm two distinct Class I generic types exist in this space: "Binder, Medical, Therapeutic," product code MDR, 21 CFR 880.5160 [2], and "Stocking, Medical Support (For General Medical Purposes)," product code FQL, 21 CFR 880.5780 [3] — the code the dossier had provisionally associated with garments of this general type. FDA's Establishment Registration & Device Listing database (device/registrationlisting, no connector in this repo reaches it, fetched directly via its public API) shows which incumbents list under which code: MEDI MFG., INC. and MEDI USA, LP carry active listings (status Active, expiring 2026) for Circaid-brand proprietary names including "Circaid Juxtalite" and "Circaid Reduction Kit," most of them under product code MDR [4]; BSN-JOBST GMBH, BSN MEDICAL, INC. and Essity Distribution B.V. carry active listings for "FarrowWrap 4000" and related proprietary names, also under product code MDR [5]; SIGVARIS Inc. and SIGVARIS, INC. — Holland Facility carry active listings for "Compreflex" and related proprietary names, also under product code MDR [6]. A parallel query for the fourth named incumbent found no matching establishment record: a registrationlisting search on firm_name:"Solaris" returned openFDA's own "No matches found!" response, and a search on proprietary_name:"Solaris" matched only an unrelated product (a Medrad-brand MR contrast injector), not a compression-wrap maker [7]. This is a real, searched absence under that exact firm name as of this report's run date — not proof the company doesn't exist or trades under a different registered name, which this pass did not check.

Typed-connector queries extend the dossier's per-firm recall/clearance nulls to the product-code level directly: zero 510(k) clearances [8] and zero device recalls [9] were found under product code MDR in the ten years to 2026-09-01, and the same is true of product code FQL — zero clearances [10] and zero recalls [11] in the same window. Read together with [2]–[7], this confirms both incumbent categories are 510(k)-exempt in practice, not merely absent from a brand-name search, and that neither generic type has triggered an FDA recall in a decade.

A fifth brand, and a new alternative aimed at the appearance problem in the flat-knit abandonment record

Two further items were not in the dossier's prior pass. A UK case-study-level source describes "easywrap adjustable velcro compression wraps" (Haddenham Healthcare) as part of self-management for lymphoedema and lipoedema, reporting individual patient experiences of daily-life impact and quality-of-life benefit [12] [single-source]. This is a fifth adjustable-wrap brand, distinct from the dossier's four named incumbents; its commercial availability in the US was not checked this pass. Separately, a small prospective trial develops and tests "Flow plus Jeans," a novel compression-denim garment, aiming explicitly at the appearance-driven non-adherence problem the dossier's own flat-knit abandonment record already documents (PMID 39724281, in the domain dossier: patients "tried to hide the compression hosiery"). In nine female patients with lymphedema, the garment showed non-inferiority to conventional compression stockings on lower-limb circumference measured at six points, pre-use versus six months post-use, and:

"Patients reported enhanced satisfaction regarding the jeans' fashionability, which could serve as an incentive for long-term adherence." — [13]

This is [single-source], n=9, and the study's own country is not stated in the retrieved abstract; a companion nine-healthy-volunteer safety arm found no DVT or skin complications after three days of wear. No FDA record for this product was searched this pass.

Pricing: searched, not carried into this section as a finding

WebSearch and WebFetch located current US retailer prices for named incumbent products — for example, a JOBST FarrowWrap BASIC legpiece listed at "$72.00" (sale) / "$90.00" (regular) and a Circaid Juxtafit Premium lower-leg piece listed at "$262.40" on two different retail medical- supply sites, read directly rather than taken from a search-engine summary. Neither page carries a PMID, NCT, K-number, CFR section, HCPCS code, DOI, CELEX number or Federal Register document number, which this report's own sourcing bar requires of every citation, and a retail resale price is not the same fact as a manufacturer's list price or the CMS payment amount already flagged as an open item in the domain dossier's §6. No price figure is therefore stated as a finding in this section; see §5.

4. Sources

[1] Limitations to self-management of adjustable compression wraps in the elderly: results of a prospective cohort study — International Angiology (published 2021-06, day not given in the PubMed record; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 33739073 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/33739073/ [peer-reviewed] [2] openFDA device/classification, product_code=MDR — "Binder, Medical, Therapeutic," Class 1, 21 CFR 880.5160 (current registry record, via this repo's classification connector; accessed 2026-09-01). 21 CFR 880.5160 — https://api.fda.gov/device/classification.json?search=product_code:MDR [federal-registry] [3] openFDA device/classification, product_code=FQL — "Stocking, Medical Support (For General Medical Purposes)," Class 1, 21 CFR 880.5780 (current registry record, via this repo's classification connector; accessed 2026-09-01). 21 CFR 880.5780 — https://api.fda.gov/device/classification.json?search=product_code:FQL [federal-registry] [4] openFDA device/registrationlisting, search=proprietary_name:"circaid" — MEDI MFG., INC. and MEDI USA, LP, active establishment/device listings (status Active, expiring 2026) for Circaid-brand proprietary names including Circaid Juxtalite and Circaid Reduction Kit, product code MDR, 21 CFR 880.5160 (accessed 2026-09-01). 21 CFR 880.5160 — https://api.fda.gov/device/registrationlisting.json?search=proprietary_name:%22circaid%22 [federal-registry] [5] openFDA device/registrationlisting, search=proprietary_name:"FarrowWrap" — BSN-JOBST GMBH, BSN MEDICAL, INC. and Essity Distribution B.V., active establishment/device listings (status Active, expiring 2026) for FarrowWrap-brand proprietary names, product code MDR, 21 CFR 880.5160 (accessed 2026-09-01). 21 CFR 880.5160 — https://api.fda.gov/device/registrationlisting.json?search=proprietary_name:%22FarrowWrap%22 [federal-registry] [6] openFDA device/registrationlisting, search=proprietary_name:"Compreflex" — SIGVARIS Inc. and SIGVARIS, INC. - Holland Facility, active establishment/device listings (status Active, expiring 2026) for Compreflex-brand proprietary names, product code MDR, 21 CFR 880.5160 (accessed 2026-09-01). 21 CFR 880.5160 — https://api.fda.gov/device/registrationlisting.json?search=proprietary_name:%22Compreflex%22 [federal-registry] [7] openFDA device/registrationlisting, search=firm_name:"Solaris" — no matching establishment record found; a further search on proprietary_name:"Solaris" matched only an unrelated Medrad-brand MR contrast injector product line, product code MDR queried for the other three named incumbents above, 21 CFR 880.5160 (accessed 2026-09-01). 21 CFR 880.5160 — https://api.fda.gov/device/registrationlisting.json?search=firm_name:%22Solaris%22 [federal-registry] [8] openFDA device/510k, product_code=MDR, decision_date 2016-09-03 to 2026-09-01 — 0 records, via this repo's clearances connector, 21 CFR 880.5160 (accessed 2026-09-01). 21 CFR 880.5160 — https://api.fda.gov/device/510k.json?search=product_code:MDR [federal-registry] [9] openFDA device/recall, product_code=MDR, event_date_initiated 2016-09-03 to 2026-09-01 — 0 records, via this repo's recalls connector, 21 CFR 880.5160 (accessed 2026-09-01). 21 CFR 880.5160 — https://api.fda.gov/device/recall.json?search=product_code:MDR [federal-registry] [10] openFDA device/510k, product_code=FQL, decision_date 2016-09-03 to 2026-09-01 — 0 records, via this repo's clearances connector, 21 CFR 880.5780 (accessed 2026-09-01). 21 CFR 880.5780 — https://api.fda.gov/device/510k.json?search=product_code:FQL [federal-registry] [11] openFDA device/recall, product_code=FQL, event_date_initiated 2016-09-03 to 2026-09-01 — 0 records, via this repo's recalls connector, 21 CFR 880.5780 (accessed 2026-09-01). 21 CFR 880.5780 — https://api.fda.gov/device/recall.json?search=product_code:FQL [federal-registry] [12] Haddenham easywrap as part of self-management in lymphoedema and lipoedema: The patient perspective — British Journal of Community Nursing (published 2017-10-01; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 28961045 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28961045/ [peer-reviewed] [13] Prospective Evaluation of the Safety and Compression Performance of Novel Compression Denim Jeans in Healthy Volunteers and Patients With Lymphedema — Cureus (published 2025-03, day not given in the PubMed record; accessed 2026-09-01). PMID 40129954 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/40129954/ [peer-reviewed]

5. Sourcing & Gaps

Well established: FDA's own registries agree with themselves across four separate queries (product codes MDR and FQL, each checked against both the 510(k) and recall databases) that both incumbent generic types are 510(k)-exempt in practice and carry no recall history in the last decade [2][3][8][9][10][11] — stated plainly as registry facts rather than as multi-source corroboration, following this fleet's practice of treating a single federal registry's own record of itself as authoritative without requiring a second, independent database to agree.

Thin: the self-application pressure-accuracy finding [1] is [single-source], carries a mixed CVI/lymphedema, elderly, likely-non-US population, and is the only located measurement of its kind anywhere in this domain's research to date. The Haddenham Easywrap finding [12] and the compression-denim trial [13] are each [single-source], case-study or n=9 respectively, and neither has an established US commercial or regulatory footprint checked this pass. Each registrationlisting finding [4][5][6][7] rests on a single federal database queried once and is a registry fact, not independently cross-checked against a second registry.

Rescoped from class 3: the domain dossier's own §9 already names the twin for "would patients successfully self-apply this candidate's wrap and correctly read its tension indicator?" as "whether patients can self-don any adjustable wrap at all," and records that twin as only partially answered. This report does not perform a new rescoping; it reports the first study located in this domain's research that measures that already-identified twin directly — a self-applied pressure achievement rate, for one of the dossier's own named products [1] — rather than a continuation-intent or satisfaction proxy.

Out of scope: CPT/HCPCS descriptor text and any dollar payment figure (scoped to this domain's reimbursement section). MAUDE adverse-event narratives — no connector in this repo reads MAUDE; two ad hoc attempts this pass to query openFDA's device/event endpoint directly (a device.generic_name:"compression wrap" search, and a device.manufacturer_d_name:"medi" search) both returned real records, but for unrelated products (a hot/cold gel compress and, respectively, unrelated implant and catheter devices), not this domain's gradient compression wraps — a demonstration of the same MAUDE free-text noise problem docs/backlog.md 1.9 already flags, not a finding about this domain's products, and not cited above. Two further attempts, querying device.brand_name:"Circaid" and device.brand_name:"FarrowWrap" directly, returned an HTTP 404 that WebFetch could not resolve into a readable body, so whether that reflects a genuine no-match or a blocked fetch is not established — recorded here as not retrieved, not as an absence finding. Non-US jurisdictions for registry queries — no connector in this repo queries a non-US device registry, though literature findings from likely-non-US cohorts [1][12][13] are read and flagged by population, not excluded outright.

Not searched vs. not found: Not found — no second study measuring adjustable-wrap self-applied pressure against a numeric target was located this pass, by any query form tried; this narrows but does not close the dossier's own recorded gap. Not found — no FDA registration record for a firm or proprietary name "Solaris" was located, under either a firm-name or a proprietary-name search; whether the company trades under a different legal name was not searched. Not searched — the US commercial-distribution status of the Haddenham Easywrap and Flow plus Jeans products; any FDA record for either. Not searched — a broader registrationlisting sweep for other adjustable-wrap or flat-knit-garment brands beyond the five named in this report and the domain dossier.

[inference] Reading the 30%-self-application-success figure in [1] as directly applicable to the below-knee, US, lymphedema-only population the domain dossier's candidate targets would overstate what the study supports — the cohort is mixed CVI/lymphedema, elderly, and very likely European — and this report deliberately does not draw that extension, consistent with the same generalization caution the dossier's own §5 already applies to its six existing donning-difficulty studies.

6. Claim Candidates

PropositionEvidence classResolvable identifierDossier section
In a prospective cohort of 30 adults over 65 self-applying a Circaid Juxtalite adjustable compression wrap, only 30% achieved a self-applied calf pressure of at least 30 mmHg, with obesity, gripping difficulty, cognitive impairment and low social status identified as limiting factors and age itself not among them2 publishedPMID 337390735
FDA's Establishment Registration & Device Listing database shows active device listings for medi (Circaid), BSN-JOBST (FarrowWrap) and Sigvaris (Compreflex) adjustable compression wrap products under product code MDR ("Binder, Medical, Therapeutic"), distinct from the flat-knit-stocking product code FQL1 registry21 CFR 880.51605
No FDA Establishment Registration & Device Listing record was found under the firm name "Solaris" as of 2026-09-011 registry21 CFR 880.51605
Zero 510(k) clearances and zero device recalls were recorded under FDA product code MDR, and separately under product code FQL, in the ten years to 2026-09-011 registry21 CFR 880.51605
In a prospective trial (n=9 female patients with lymphedema), a novel compression-denim garment (Flow plus Jeans) showed non-inferiority to conventional compression stockings on lower-limb circumference measured pre-use versus six months post-use, with patients reporting higher satisfaction with the garment's fashionability2 publishedPMID 401299545