Domain dossier

Shared background for a clinical problem, keyed by domain rather than by candidate, so the second idea in an area starts from the first one's research. A dossier carries no confidence tags. A line here has to be copied into a candidate's claims as unverified before anything can check or score it.

Used by: idea-009

Research reports behind it: care-pathway · clinical-evidence · epidemiology · market-players · reference-products · reimbursement · technology · user-groups

Below-knee compression therapy in the maintenance phase of lower-extremity lymphedema

Lymphedema maintenance therapy runs on lifelong daily self-applied compression, and the device literature keeps landing on the same tension: flat-knit (custom or standard) garments are the traditional standard, are difficult for a meaningful share of patients to don unaided, and adjustable hook-and-loop strap wraps exist precisely to relieve that difficulty — but the wraps introduce their own failure mode, reproducing a target sub-bandage pressure at every donning without a fitter checking it. This domain holds the evidence on both incumbents and on why people stop using each.

Read the thinness before reading the content. This is a first-pass dossier built in a single research session. Section 5 (reference products) is worked hardest, per the research lane's own priority, and carries the most citation weight. Sections 2 (care pathway) and 3 (user groups) are close to unsearched. No section here reaches a clean US-population prevalence estimate for lower-extremity lymphedema specifically, or any measured share of that population unable to self-don a flat-knit garment — both were searched for and not found, which this file says plainly rather than papering over with an aggregator number.

This file carries no confidence tags. Every line below is context with a source attached. To affect a score, a line must be copied into a candidate's ## Claims as unverified via engine/scripts/append_research_claims.py and pass the Verifier or the Corroborator. See README.md in this directory.

Citation convention for this file: bracketed numbers [n] in text and tables refer to the numbered ## Sources list at the very end, which carries each entry's full resolvable identifier. Numbers are assigned in order of first use and reused for repeats.


1. Condition & epidemiology

as_of: 2026-08-27 · sources searched: connectors literature (multiple queries on lymphedema prevalence, US epidemiology, secondary-lymphedema incidence) + literature-detail on the three PMIDs below · not searched: incidence (as opposed to prevalence/proxy measures); demographic concentration by age, race, region; any measured share of the lower-extremity lymphedema population unable to self-don a flat-knit garment

No clean US population-prevalence figure for lower-extremity lymphedema was found. Three distinct, real, retrievable studies exist and each measures a different, narrower quantity:

FactQuantity (n, population, date)Source
Lymphedema among all US hospitalizations (any type, not lower-extremity-specific)0.45% of hospitalizations (n=792,475), Nationwide Inpatient Sample, 2016-2020, rising from 0.40% (2016) to 0.50% (2020)[1]
Lymphedema-specific proportionate mortality, a mortality-registry proxy for prevalence, US2.7 per 10,000 deaths (women), 1.5 per 10,000 deaths (men), US vital registration data 1999-2020[2]
Phlebolymphedema share of lower-extremity lymphedema cases, cited in a US professional-society position statement"accounts for 41.8% of lower extremity lymphedema cases" — denominator study/population not stated in the retrieved abstract[3]

Verbatim:

"Lymphedema was present in 0.45% (n = 792,475) of all hospitalizations; with prevalence increasing from 0.40% in 2016 to 0.50% in 2020." — [1]

"In the US, the estimated prevalence of lymphedema was 2.7 per 10,000 deaths for women and 1.5 per 10,000 deaths for men... The estimated prevalence of lymphedema is 2- to 3-times higher than previously thought." — [2]

"Phlebolymphedema, a subtype linked to chronic venous insufficiency (CVI), accounts for 41.8% of lower extremity lymphedema cases and contributes to an economic burden exceeding $1 billion over 5 years." — [3]

Read all three narrowly and against each other before using any of them as a denominator. [1] is a hospitalized-inpatient count, which captures the most severe end of the disease and is not a general-population prevalence. [2] is a proportionate-mortality proxy — it measures how often lymphedema is coded as a cause of death, not how many people live with it, and its authors state explicitly that this "estimated prevalence" tracks 2-3x higher than "previously thought" once the vital-registration method is used, which is itself evidence that the field lacks an agreed population estimate. [3] gives a share of a subtype (phlebolymphedema) of lower-extremity lymphedema, not a lower-extremity lymphedema prevalence itself, and its denominator population and study design are not stated in the abstract read here (full text not retrieved this pass).

The "3-5 million" figure already on record in candidate idea-009's own Claims section is aggregator-grade and this pass did not improve on it. A repeat search for a primary, peer-reviewed source behind that commonly-cited range came back empty — every hit was a secondary compression-industry or patient-advocacy page repeating the same unsourced range, never a study reporting it directly. This is not found, not merely not searched: the search was run, using several query forms, and no primary source materialized. It must not be treated as a TAM input, in this dossier or in any claim drawn from it.

Gaps: no primary source for a US lower-extremity lymphedema population prevalence (as opposed to hospitalized, mortality-proxy, or subtype-share figures); no incidence figure; no demographic concentration by age, race, obesity status, or region; no source anywhere, in this pass, measuring what share of the lower-extremity lymphedema population cannot self-don a flat-knit garment — this is the single most load-bearing epidemiological gap for candidate idea-009 and it is open.

2. Care pathway & clinical setting

as_of: 2026-08-27 · sources searched: connectors literature (two query forms on fitting/DMEPOS supplier pathway and home-health vs. outpatient lymphedema care) — both returned zero records, a real empty result, not an unsearched gap · not searched: WebSearch/WebFetch for a care-pathway description specifically

Not established from a primary clinical source. Two literature queries aimed at where below-knee compression fitting happens and who performs it returned no PubMed records at all — a genuine null, recorded as such rather than silently skipped.

The one fact this dossier can carry into this section comes sideways, from the reimbursement material in §6: a DME MAC pricing-contractor billing article states that "medical records must document lymphedema diagnosis by MD/DO/NP/PA/CNS" [27] before a lymphedema compression treatment item is billed to Medicare — which establishes that a licensed prescriber's diagnosis is a documented precondition of the reimbursement pathway, but says nothing about where fitting, training, or ongoing care actually happens (lymphedema clinic, home health, DMEPOS supplier storefront, primary care), who holds the fitting appointment, or what equipment already exists in that setting.

Gaps: the entire care-pathway question — site of service, who fits/trains, turnaround from prescription to first dispensing, and whether below-knee wraps are dispensed through the same channel as flat-knit garments or a different one.

3. User groups & incentives

as_of: 2026-08-27

Not searched beyond what appears incidentally elsewhere in this file. The shape is visible from the reimbursement and adherence literature already gathered (prescriber, certified fitter/DMEPOS supplier, DMEPOS-program payer, and patient are at minimum four separate parties, per the general pattern this repo's dossier template expects), but no source in this pass separately characterizes any of their incentives, and inventing one would be exactly the class-3 fabrication this lane exists to prevent.

Gaps: the entire section.

4. Standard of care & clinical evidence

as_of: 2026-08-27 · sources searched: connectors literature (multiple query forms on adjustable compression wraps, lymphedema adherence, ISL consensus document) + literature-detail on the PMIDs below · not searched: KDIGO-style formal guideline grading (lymphedema has no equivalent graded-recommendation body located this pass); CLSI or similar device-performance standards for compression wraps

Guideline position — found the document, could not retrieve its substantive text. The current consensus document for lymphedema diagnosis and treatment is the International Society of Lymphology's 2023 revision [4]. Its PubMed abstract, read at abstract depth, is almost entirely a procedural history of the document's twelve revisions since 1995 and states no specific position on adjustable-strap wraps versus flat-knit garments in the maintenance phase. Two attempts to retrieve the full text — the journal's own hosting platform and a related UK compression-wraps consensus document — were both blocked (Anubis access-control page on the journal site; a PDF that a WebFetch could not extract readable text from for the second). This is "not retrieved," not "the document is silent": the ISL document's actual maintenance-phase garment-selection language remains unread by this pass.

Direct comparative evidence between adjustable-strap wraps and multilayer inelastic bandaging, lower leg, intensive phase (not maintenance):

ItemWhat it establishesEvidence quality (design, n, endpoint)Source
Adjustable wraps vs. inelastic multilayer bandaging, lower leg lymphedemaNoninferior volume reduction; significantly faster application; higher comfort ratings; 83.3% would continue using the wrapsProspective RCT, n=24, intra-individual (each patient randomized leg-to-leg), 10-day intensive CDT phase, country not stated in the retrieved abstract[5]
Adjustable compression garment (Sigvaris Coolflex, calf+foot — an inelastic below-knee system) for chronic leg oedema (including lymphoedema)Independent or near-independent self-donning at 6 weeks; measurable volume reduction; high satisfactionMulticentre prospective observational study, n=99 enrolled / 86 completed, 6-week follow-up; German-language outcome instrument used, so likely non-US[6]
Stretch, interface pressure and stiffness of six commercially available adjustable wraps, including two named in candidate idea-009's own frontmatter (Juxtafit, Juxtalite)Inelastic wraps (e.g. Coolflex) physically cap at a lower maximum pressure (~30 mmHg) than higher-stretch wraps (Juxtafit/Juxtalite/Compreflex, which reach 60+ mmHg) — the wrap's own material stretch, not the strap tension alone, sets the achievable pressure ceiling and the reproducibility of a target gradientPilot bench study, n=5 healthy volunteers, no patient outcome data[7]
Adjustable wraps vs. compressive mesh, upper-limb (not lower-extremity) breast-cancer-related lymphedema, control/maintenance phaseBoth arms achieved "satisfactory adherence"; no significant between-group difference on any outcome including adherenceRCT, n=71 women, Brazil, 30-day and 6-month follow-up[8]
Adjustable Velcro wraps as sole modality absent complex physical therapy facilitiesFeasible as a standalone treatment where fitter/therapist access is unavailableCase series, n=7 patients / 9 limbs, Iraq[9]

Verbatim:

"Adjustable compression wraps took significantly less time to apply (8.4 minutes; P < .001), and patients rated them as more comfortable (median visual analogue scale difference, 30; P < .001)... 83.3% of participants indicated they would continue using them." — [5]

"At the final six week follow up, 82 (95.3%) of the 86 subjects indicated that they were able to put on the wrap independently or with a little help from relatives." — [6]

"Coolflex® (inelastic ACW) cannot exceed a maximum pressure of 30 mmHg at rest with a maximum SSI of approximately 30 mmHg... Juxtafit®, Juxtalite® and Compreflex® (respectively 70%, 80%, 124% stretch) can be applied with pressures above 60 mmHg but with maximum SSI of 20 mmHg for Circaid® and >30 mmHg for Compreflex®." — [7]

Read [5] and [6] carefully against candidate idea-009's scope: both studies are the closest evidence this dossier has that adjustable wraps can be self- or near-self-donned, and neither is a maintenance-phase, below-knee-only, US population. [5] is the intensive decongestive phase (the phase this candidate's intended_use: explicitly excludes), and [6] is chronic leg oedema broadly (lymphoedema, venous oedema, and phlebolymphoedema together, not lymphedema alone) in a likely-European cohort. [7] is the mechanistic evidence closest to this candidate's own design premise: an inelastic short-stretch wrap (like this candidate's mechanism) is capped at a materially lower maximum pressure than the higher-stretch wraps in the same test, which cuts both ways — a lower ceiling means less room for sub-therapeutic under-tensioning to go unnoticed, but it also means the inelastic category as a whole may not reach the 30-50 mmHg descriptor language commonly associated with this device category without being applied at or near its stretch limit at every donning, which is exactly the reproducibility problem a tension-calibration indicator is built to solve.

Gaps: no guideline text specifically graded for maintenance-phase garment selection was retrieved (only located and not readable); no located study measures adjustable-wrap donning/tension reproducibility for lower-extremity lymphedema maintenance phase specifically, in a US population, over a period longer than 6 weeks; no located study compares this candidate's specific mechanism (a printed mechanical tension-calibration indicator) against an unindicated adjustable wrap for reproducibility of applied pressure.

5. Reference products — and why people stop using them

as_of: 2026-08-27 · sources searched: connectors literature + literature-detail (11 PMIDs read at abstract depth below), connectors 510k, connectors clearances, connectors recalls (by firm, for medi, BSN/JOBST, Sigvaris, Solaris) · not searched: MAUDE (no connector in this repo reaches it — docs/backlog.md 1.9); each company's own IFU/labelling text; commercial-distribution status of any named product

The load-bearing section. Two distinct incumbents sit in this domain, and candidate idea-009 is itself a member of the second category, not a new one.

Flat-knit (custom or standard) compression garment — the traditional standard

SignalQuantity (n, population, date)Source
Overall adherence to compression garment wear as recommended51.7% (n=31 of 60), breast-cancer-related lymphedema (upper limb, not lower), Turkey[10]
Most common stated reasons for not wearing / discontinuation"functional difficulties in daily life" 33%, "discomfort" 28.8%, same cohort as above[10]
Compression-garment-use adherence, phase-2 CDT46.6% (n=42 of 90), postmastectomy lymphedema (upper limb, not lower), Turkey[11]
Adherence to compression garments generallyDescribed as "low" in a cross-sectional study; related to "etiology, severity, and perceived comfort" — no numeric breakdown of donning-difficulty specifically reported in the abstractn=92, mixed-etiology lymphedema, Spain
Donning/doffing difficulty as a driver of dependency and non-adherenceQualitative theme: donning/doffing problems "can result in dependency of home or informal care, which stopped some participants from wearing"n=19 interviews, general compression-hosiery wearers (not lymphedema-specific), Netherlands
Comorbidities contributing to donning difficultyQualitative theme, named as a subtheme of "physical factors" affecting adherencen=25, chronic venous insufficiency (not lymphedema), New Zealand

"The most common reasons for not wearing/discontinuation included functional difficulties in daily life (33%) and discomfort (28.8%)." — [10]

"Participants had difficulties with the appearance, and often tried to hide the compression hosiery... They mentioned problems with donning and doffing, which can result in dependency of home or informal care, which stopped some participants from wearing." — [13]

Read this the same way the potassium dossier reads its capillary-sampling section: this is evidence the failure mode is real, not evidence that a replacement device will be adopted. Every one of these six findings is genuinely about donning/discontinuation, and every one carries a population mismatch this dossier will not paper over: [10] and [11] are upper-limb breast-cancer-related lymphedema, not lower-extremity; [12] is mixed-etiology without a below-knee-specific breakdown; [13] and [14] are not lymphedema-specific at all (general compression hosiery and CVI, respectively) and both are non-US. No located study reports flat-knit garment discontinuation/donning-difficulty rates specifically for a US, lower-extremity, lymphedema-diagnosed population — the exact population candidate idea-009 targets. That is a real, specific, load-bearing gap, not a rounding error: the donning-difficulty finding this candidate's entire desirability thesis rests on is established in an adjacent population (upper-limb lymphedema, or non-lymphedema lower-limb venous disease), and its transfer to below-knee lymphedema in the US is an inference, not a measured fact.

Adjustable-strap gradient compression wraps — the direct predicate class (candidate idea-009's own category)

SignalQuantity (n, population, date)Source
Sub-therapeutic / supra-therapeutic tension variability by wrap materialInelastic wraps cap at a materially lower maximum pressure than higher-stretch wraps of the same product class; achievable pressure and stiffness vary by product, not solely by applied strap tensionPilot bench study, n=5 healthy volunteers
Self-donning success rate at 6 weeks (inelastic below-knee/foot wrap system)95.3% (82/86) could self-don independently or with a little help; 88.0% overall satisfactionn=99 enrolled/86 completed, likely non-US, chronic leg oedema (not lymphedema-specific)
Continuation intent after intensive-phase trial use83.3% indicated they would continue using adjustable wrapsn=24, lower leg lymphedema, intensive phase, country not stated
Product recall — packaging/labelling, not a compression-performance failure1 recall, JOBST Compri2 (BSN Medical Inc.), mislabeled shipping cartons; terminatedFDA device recall database, initiated 2022-02-01
Recalls for medi, Sigvaris, or Solaris named productsNone foundrecalls --firm queries, 2016-08-29 to 2026-08-27 window

"Coolflex® (inelastic ACW) cannot exceed a maximum pressure of 30 mmHg at rest... Juxtafit®, Juxtalite® and Compreflex® ... can be applied with pressures above 60 mmHg." — [7]

Read this narrowly and in the direction candidate idea-009 needs it read. No located study measures a sub-therapeutic tension failure directly (i.e., a wrap donned by a patient at home coming in measurably below its target pressure) — the closest evidence is [7]'s bench-level finding that different wrap products have very different pressure ceilings for a given stretch, which is consistent with (but does not directly demonstrate) the reproducibility problem a tension-calibration indicator addresses. This is the single biggest evidence gap for this candidate's core differentiator: no publication located in this pass tests whether patients actually apply adjustable wraps at sub-therapeutic tension at home, at what rate, or whether a printed elongation-window indicator changes that rate. Absence of an on-market recall for compression failure (as opposed to a labelling error) is a real finding but a weak one — 510(k)-exempt products generate no FDA-reportable adverse event trail through this database in the way a Class II device would, and MAUDE (which might carry voluntary reports) has no connector here.

Gaps: no US, lower-extremity-specific donning/discontinuation study for adjustable wraps specifically (as distinct from flat-knit garments); no direct measurement of home-use under-tensioning rate for any adjustable wrap; MAUDE unsearched; commercial-distribution status of any named incumbent product unestablished.

6. Reimbursement landscape

as_of: 2026-08-27 · sources searched: connectors regulation against eCFR (title 42, multiple sections — the endpoint that returned HTTP 503 for candidate idea-009's own Verifier pass on 2026-08-25 is reachable again as of this pass); WebFetch of the PDAC (DME MAC pricing/coding contractor) coding-and-billing page for A6583 · not searched: the DME MAC Local Coverage Determination and Policy Article by L-number; the CMS HCPCS Level II quarterly file itself (still absent from data/, per candidate idea-009's own Verifier notes); the enacting Public Law's own bill text (congress.gov and govinfo.gov both declined or truncated the fetch — see below)

The statutory and regulatory benefit category is now confirmed against primary CFR text, not a search-engine summary. 42 CFR 410.36(a)(4) [21] lists "Lymphedema compression treatment items" as a distinct Medicare Part B benefit category, defined to include "(i) Standard and custom fitted gradient compression garments[,] (ii) Gradient compression wraps with adjustable straps[,] (iii) Compression bandaging systems." 42 CFR 414.1600 [22] states this subpart "implements section 1834(z) of the [Social Security] Act." 42 CFR 414.1650(a) [23] states the effective date and payment formula directly:

"For items furnished on or after January 1, 2024, Medicare pays for lymphedema compression treatment items on the basis of 80 percent of the lesser of— (1) The actual charge for the item; or (2) The payment amount for the item, as determined in accordance with paragraph (b) of this section." — [23]

Paragraph (b) of the same section further establishes the methodology used to set the payment amount itself — not the general DMEPOS fee-schedule mechanism, a distinct one built specifically for this benefit category:

"(1) If payment amounts are available from Medicaid state plans, then 120 percent of the average of the Medicaid payment amounts. (2) If payment amounts are not available from Medicaid state plans, then 100 percent of the average of average internet retail prices and payment amounts from TRICARE... (3) If payment amounts are not available from Medicaid state plans or TRICARE, then 100 percent of average internet retail prices." — [23]

Amounts update annually "based on the percent change in the Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers (CPI-U)" [23] — not the general DMEPOS fee-schedule update mechanism at 42 CFR 414.210 [26] (which this pass also re-verified now that eCFR is reachable, and which candidate idea-009 had provisionally cited as the operative rule while eCFR was down). This is a correction worth carrying forward explicitly: the general 80%-of-lesser DME rule at 414.210 states the same 80% formula in general terms, but the item-specific payment-amount methodology and its CPI-U update rule live in the lymphedema-specific subpart at 414.1650, not in 414.210. A future reader should cite 414.1650, not 414.210, for anything about how the A6583 dollar figure itself is set or updated.

42 CFR 414.1670 [25] confirms a distinct CMS process (preliminary determination, public posting, public meeting, then a final determination "through program instructions") for deciding whether a new item qualifies as a lymphedema compression treatment item at all — relevant if this candidate's tension-calibration indicator were ever treated as enough of a departure from the existing generic type to require its own such determination, though nothing located this pass suggests it would be. 42 CFR 414.1660 [24] confirms a continuity-of-pricing rule exists specifically for this benefit category if HCPCS codes are later split or merged.

The A6583 descriptor itself — retrieved directly, and it corrects a claim already in candidate idea-009's file. A PDAC (DME MAC Pricing, Data Analysis and Coding contractor) coding-and-billing article, fetched directly (not via search-engine synthesis), revised 2026-04-08, gives the code table for this benefit category's below-knee items [27]:

CodeDescriptor (verbatim from source)
A6552"GRADIENT COMPRESSION STOCKING, BELOW KNEE, 30-40 MMHG, EACH"
A6553"GRADIENT COMPRESSION STOCKING, BELOW KNEE, 30-40 MMHG, CUSTOM, EACH"
A6554"GRADIENT COMPRESSION STOCKING, BELOW KNEE, 40 MMHG OR GREATER, EACH"
A6555"GRADIENT COMPRESSION STOCKING, BELOW KNEE, 40 MMHG OR GREATER, CUSTOM"
A6583"GRADIENT COMPRESSION WRAP WITH ADJUSTABLE STRAPS, BELOW KNEE, EACH"
A6585"GRADIENT COMPRESSION WRAP WITH ADJUSTABLE STRAPS, ABOVE KNEE, EACH"

This descriptor for A6583, as retrieved directly from the PDAC coding contractor, carries no "30-50 mmHg" qualifier — unlike the adjacent stocking codes A6552/A6554, which do carry an explicit mmHg range. Candidate idea-009's own file (frontmatter and Scores table) states the A6583 descriptor as "Gradient compression wrap with adjustable straps, below knee, 30-50 mmHg, each," attributing a specific pressure range to the wrap code that this directly retrieved coding-contractor source does not show. This dossier records the discrepancy plainly rather than resolving it in either direction: it is possible the CMS HCPCS Level II master file (not yet loaded into data/ and not independently checked here) carries the range in a field this particular PDAC article does not reproduce, or it is possible the 30-50 mmHg figure originated from the Generator's web search and does not belong on this code at all. Either way, the candidate's own "the descriptor match is by construction" claim about a 30-50 mmHg design target should not be treated as settled until the actual HCPCS Level II master file is read.

The same PDAC source [27] also gives real, previously-unconfirmed billing mechanics:

"Medical records must document lymphedema diagnosis by MD/DO/NP/PA/CNS." — [27]

Daytime garments/wraps: three per body area, once every 6 months. Nighttime garments: two per body area, once every 24 months. Replacement allowed for loss, theft, irreparable damage, or a medical-condition change requiring new sizing. — [27], paraphrased from a structured coverage/frequency table on the same page; not a single verbatim sentence in the source

The enacting statute's own bill text was not independently retrieved. WebSearch results attribute the benefit category to "section 4133" of the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2023 (Pub. L. 117-328), but two attempts to fetch primary bill text — congress.gov (HTTP 403) and govinfo.gov's own hosted PLAW text (fetched, but the retrieved excerpt did not reach the relevant section before truncating) — did not confirm this citation from the statute itself. The CFR-side confirmation (410.36, 414.1600, 414.1650 above) is independently verified against primary regulatory text; the specific Public Law section number is not, and should be treated as unconfirmed until the bill text itself is read.

Gaps: the DME MAC Local Coverage Determination and Policy Article (L-number) — whether coverage is genuinely available for "any diagnosis of lymphedema" as opposed to a narrower LCD-imposed criterion, per candidate idea-009's own still-open question; the CMS HCPCS Level II quarterly file itself, to settle the mmHg-descriptor discrepancy above directly; any dollar figure for A6583 (a specific payment amount was reported by a WebSearch summary during this pass but was not independently retrieved from a primary CMS fee-schedule document, so it is deliberately not recorded here as a fact — a search-engine synthesis is not a source of record); whether a PDAC coding-verification review is in fact required for a new manufacturer's A6583 product, beyond what this one article does not mention.

7. Technology trajectory

as_of: 2026-08-27 · sources searched: connectors literature (adjustable compression wrap queries, above) + literature-detail on the two PMIDs below

Two things are visibly moving in this category, and this candidate's own "purely mechanical, non-electronic" design choice sits deliberately upstream of both:

ChangeWhenWhat it enabledSource
Combined elastic-nighttime-garment + adjustable-wrap "dual-layer" self-managed systems, bridging intensive and maintenance phasesCase-based analysis, 2026Fewer clinic visits, reported improved independence in a small (n=5), non-generalizable case series[28]
Sensor-equipped/AI-integrated compression garments (electronic, feedback-instrumented)Narrative review, 2025Described as an emerging category (adaptive pneumatic systems, vibration-assisted apparatus, wearable biosensors) distinct from any purely mechanical indicator; the review itself flags "compliance with regulatory frameworks" as an unresolved challenge for this category[29]

Verbatim:

"Cutting-edge compression modalities, such as sensor-equipped garments, adaptive pneumatic systems, and vibration-assisted apparatus, deliver dynamic, feedback-informed therapeutic interventions." — [29]

Read this against candidate idea-009's own regulatory design deliberately: the trend this review describes is toward electronic, sensor-based feedback devices, which the review's own language flags as carrying more regulatory exposure ("compliance with regulatory frameworks" as a named challenge) — consistent with, though not proof of, candidate idea-009's own stated rationale for keeping its tension indicator purely mechanical rather than a measurement device. No cleared product or published study implementing an electronic sub-bandage pressure sensor in a below-knee adjustable wrap was located or searched for directly this pass (see §8).

Gaps: a counted clearance-rate series for this generic type cannot be produced (the generic type is 510(k)-exempt, so a clearance count would measure nothing — see §5 and §8); no search was run specifically for electronic/sensor-based sub-bandage pressure devices as a distinct competitive threat, beyond the one narrative review located.

8. Market players & dynamics

as_of: 2026-08-27 · sources searched: connectors 510k, connectors clearances, connectors recalls (by firm), reused from §5

The four incumbents named in candidate idea-009's own frontmatter — medi (circaid Juxtafit/Juxta-lite), Essity/BSN (JOBST FarrowWrap), Sigvaris (Compreflex, and the Coolflex system studied in [6]), and Solaris — could not be independently confirmed or denied as commercially active via any FDA database this pass, for the same structural reason already on record in candidate idea-009's own Verifier pass: 510(k)-exempt products under 21 CFR 880.5780 generate no clearance record. 510k queries against two of the four firms by name returned database-absence statuses [16][17], and broader device_name:"compression wrap" queries surfaced only two unrelated cleared devices — a cold-therapy wrap (product code IRP) [18] and a powered active-compression wrap (product code JOW) [19] — neither of which competes in this candidate's category. The competitor count in this specific generic type remains genuinely unmeasured by any connector in this repo, exactly as candidate idea-009's own file already states; this dossier adds no new information on that point, only confirms the same structural null independently.

One real signal did surface: a 2022 FDA device recall for BSN Medical's JOBST Compri2 [15], described as a shipping-carton labelling error ("The folding boxes within the shipping case are mislabeled") rather than a compression-performance or safety failure, terminated. This is recorded as a minor packaging-quality signal about one incumbent, not as evidence of a product-performance problem in the category.

Gaps: FDA Establishment Registration & Device Listing (the database where an 510(k)-exempt product would actually be findable) has no connector in this repo and was not queried by any means this pass; no funding, entry, or exit activity for any named player was searched; no non-US regulatory or commercial-distribution status was checked for any of the four named incumbents.

9. Open questions — and what would settle them

QuestionClass (1 registry / 2 published / 3 stakeholder-future)What would settle itReachable by?
What share of the US lower-extremity lymphedema population is unable to self-don a flat-knit garment?2A published study measuring donning capability directly in a lower-extremity lymphedema cohortNo connector; literature search run this pass, genuinely not found
What is the actual dollar payment amount CMS has set for A6583?1The CMS DMEPOS fee schedule file itself (data/hcpcs_payment_rates.csv, or the PDAC-published payment table directly fetched)Not yet — data/ still lacks the file; a further direct PDAC/CMS fetch could resolve this without waiting on the cache
Does the A6583 HCPCS descriptor actually carry a "30-50 mmHg" qualifier, as candidate idea-009's file states, or not, as the PDAC article retrieved this pass shows?1The CMS HCPCS Level II Alpha-Numeric master file itselfNot yet reached this pass; the PDAC coding article is a real primary-adjacent source but is not the master file
Do patients home-applying adjustable compression wraps actually achieve sub-therapeutic tension at a measurable rate?2A published study directly measuring applied pressure at home-donning versus a target, for an adjustable wrap, in a lymphedema populationNo connector; literature search run this pass for adjacent constructs (§4, §5), not for this exact measurement, and not found
Would patients who currently cannot self-don a flat-knit garment successfully self-apply this candidate's specific multi-strap wrap and correctly read its tension indicator?3Nothing directly answers this. Its twin — whether patients can self-don any adjustable wrap at all — is partially answered in §4/§5 ([5], [6]) in non-US, non-below-knee-lymphedema-specific, and non-maintenance-phase populationsNobody, for the exact population and device; the partial twin has been reached and its limits stated above
Would certified lymphedema fitters and DMEPOS suppliers stock and fit a fifth adjustable-wrap brand against the four named incumbents?3Nothing. Not answerable by any source in this repoNobody — no revealed-behaviour twin located this pass (channel-switching studies for DMEPOS suppliers were not searched for directly)
What does the DME MAC Local Coverage Determination for lymphedema compression treatment items actually say about diagnosis and quantity limits?1The specific LCD and Policy Article, pulled by L-number from the CMS Medicare Coverage DatabaseNot reached this pass; a direct step, not a connector gap
Does the enacting statute (Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2023, alleged section 4133) actually say what secondary sources attribute to it?1The bill's own text at congress.gov or govinfo.govAttempted this pass; congress.gov refused the fetch (HTTP 403) and the govinfo.gov PLAW text truncated before the relevant section — genuinely not retrieved, not merely not searched

Class-3 questions are recorded here and never answered here, per docs/research-lane-spec.md §3.1. Both class-3 rows above have partial revealed-behaviour twins already reached in §4/§5; neither twin is a clean match to this candidate's exact population, device, or phase, and that mismatch is the honest state of the evidence, not a gap this dossier will paper over.

10. Provenance & staleness

Sectionas_ofHow it was gatheredNever checked
1 Epidemiology2026-08-27connectors literature (multiple query forms) + literature-detail on 3 PMIDs; one further WebSearch attempt for the "3-5 million" figure's primary sourceIncidence; demographic concentration; share unable to self-don a flat-knit garment
2 Care pathway2026-08-27Two connectors literature queries (both empty)Site-of-service, who fits/trains, referral pathway
3 User groups2026-08-27Not searchedEverything
4 Clinical evidence2026-08-27connectors literature (multiple queries) + literature-detail on 6 PMIDs; two WebFetch attempts at ISL/UK consensus full text (both blocked)Graded guideline recommendation text; direct reproducibility study of tension-calibration indicators
5 Reference products2026-08-27connectors literature + literature-detail on 11 PMIDs; connectors 510k, connectors clearances, connectors recalls by firmMAUDE; commercial-distribution status of any named incumbent; a direct US lower-extremity-lymphedema-specific donning-difficulty study
6 Reimbursement2026-08-27connectors regulation against eCFR (title 42, 6 sections) + WebFetch of a PDAC coding/billing pageDME MAC LCD/Policy Article by L-number; CMS HCPCS Level II master file; enacting Public Law bill text (2 fetch attempts, both failed)
7 Technology2026-08-27connectors literature + literature-detail on 2 PMIDsElectronic/sensor-based sub-bandage pressure device search run specifically
8 Market players2026-08-27Reused §5's 510k/clearances/recalls queriesFDA Establishment Registration & Device Listing (no connector); funding/entry/exit activity

What this dossier has never looked at, as of 2026-08-27: sections 2 and 3 (care pathway and user groups) are essentially unworked; no source anywhere in this pass measures the share of the target population unable to self-don a flat-knit garment, which is the single epidemiological fact this candidate's indication is built around; the DME MAC coverage policy text itself; the CMS HCPCS master file that would settle the A6583 mmHg-descriptor discrepancy flagged in §6; MAUDE narratives for any named incumbent; and any primary evidence that a mechanical tension-calibration indicator changes home-donning tension accuracy — which does not appear to exist anywhere yet, for any product, and is this candidate's most consequential open question. Absence of scanning is not absence of change; this file is a starting point, not the output of a completed research programme.

Sources

  1. PMID 41303192 — "Epidemiological Study of Lymphedema Prevalence and Comorbidities in Hospitalized Patients in the United States," Journal of Clinical Medicine, 2025.
  2. PMID 39207410 — "Prevalence of Lymphedema Using Large Data Sets: An Epidemiological Analysis in the United States and in Italy," Lymphology, 2023.
  3. PMID 41271100 — "Non-pneumatic compression and its clinical utility in management of lymphedema. A position statement endorsed by the American Venous Forum and the American Venous and Lymphatic Society," *Journal of Vascular Surgery: Venous and Lymphatic Disorders*, 2026.
  4. PMID 39207406 — "The Diagnosis and Treatment of Peripheral Lymphedema: 2023 Consensus Document of The International Society of Lymphology," Lymphology, 2023. (Abstract only retrieved; full text at https://journals.librarypublishing.arizona.edu/lymph/article/6372/galley/5938/download/ blocked by an access-control page on this pass.)
  5. PMID 40015477 — "A randomized, controlled noninferiority study of adjustable compression wraps compared with inelastic multilayer bandaging used in the intensive complex decongestive therapy of lower leg lymphedema," *Journal of Vascular Surgery: Venous and Lymphatic Disorders*, 2025.
  6. PMID 38866131 — "Benefits of an Adjustable Compression Garment System for the Reduction of Chronic Leg Oedema (ACROE Study)," *European Journal of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery*, 2024.
  7. PMID 36795457 — "Adjustable compression wraps: stretch, interface pressures and static stiffness indices," International Angiology, 2023.
  8. PMID 39119622 — "Efficacy, safety of and adherence to adjustable compression wraps in the control phase of breast cancer-related lymphedema: A randomized controlled trial," Clinical Rehabilitation, 2024.
  9. PMID 34788145 — "How Can Adjustable Velcro Wraps Help in the Management of Lymphedema in the Absence of Complex Physical Therapy Facilities," Lymphatic Research and Biology, 2022.
  10. PMID 35245100 — "Adherence to Compression Garment Wear and Associated Factors Among Patients with Breast Cancer-Related Lymphedema: A Pilot Study from a Turkish Tertiary Center," Lymphatic Research and Biology, 2022.
  11. PMID 38948639 — "Adherence to complete decongestive therapy in patients with postmastectomy lymphedema and related factors," *Turkish Journal of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation*, 2024.
  12. PMID 40282976 — "Adherence to Compression Garments in Lymphedema Patients: A Cross-Sectional Study," Medicina (Kaunas), 2025.
  13. PMID 39724281 — "The impact of wearing compression hosiery and the use of assistive products for donning and doffing: A descriptive qualitative study into user experiences," PLoS One, 2024.
  14. PMID 39601402 — "A qualitative study of barriers and facilitators to compression stocking use in patients with chronic venous insufficiency," ANZ Journal of Surgery, 2025.
  15. openFDA device/recall, product_res_number Z-1228-2022 — BSN Medical Inc., JOBST Compri2, initiated 2022-02-01, status Terminated (`python3 -m connectors recalls --firm "BSN"`).
  16. openFDA device/510k query device_name:"circaid" applicant:"medi" — no record found (python3 -m connectors 510k "circaid" --applicant "medi").
  17. openFDA device/510k query device_name:"FarrowWrap" — no record found (python3 -m connectors 510k "FarrowWrap").
  18. K230524 — "Cold Compression Wrap Pro" (Chengdu Cryo-Push Medical Technology Co., Ltd), decided 2024-01-19, product code IRP.
  19. K162481 — "RF1400 Active Compression Wrap" (Recovery Force, LLC), decided 2017-02-16, product code JOW.
  20. openFDA device/recall queries recalling_firm:"medi", recalling_firm:"Sigvaris", recalling_firm:"Solaris", window 2016-08-29 to 2026-08-27 — no records found for any of the three.
  21. 42 CFR 410.36, eCFR versioner title-42, issue 2026-08-13 (python3 -m connectors regulation 410.36 --title 42).
  22. 42 CFR 414.1600, eCFR versioner title-42, issue 2026-08-13 (python3 -m connectors regulation 414.1600 --title 42).
  23. 42 CFR 414.1650, eCFR versioner title-42, issue 2026-08-13 (python3 -m connectors regulation 414.1650 --title 42).
  24. 42 CFR 414.1660, eCFR versioner title-42, issue 2026-08-13 (python3 -m connectors regulation 414.1660 --title 42).
  25. 42 CFR 414.1670, eCFR versioner title-42, issue 2026-08-13 (python3 -m connectors regulation 414.1670 --title 42).
  26. 42 CFR 414.210, eCFR versioner title-42, issue 2026-08-13 (python3 -m connectors regulation 414.210 --title 42).
  27. PDAC (DME MAC Pricing, Data Analysis and Coding contractor) coding-and-billing article, "Lymphedema Compression Treatment Items – Correct Coding and Billing – Revised," revised 2026-04-08, https://dmepdac.com/palmetto/PDACv2.nsf/DID/CMXSNAFUBB (fetched directly).
  28. PMID 42013200 — "Rethinking compression: expanding decongestive therapy with innovative garment solutions," Wounds, 2026.
  29. PMID 41182582 — "Technology-enhanced compression and AI-integrated lymphedema care: a narrative review," Irish Journal of Medical Science, 2025.