Research report
A research report is the sourced material a domain
dossier is synthesized from — generated on a plan and a cadence, one topic per file.
A report carries no confidence tags. Its bracketed markers say who might have
an incentive to shade a line; none of them says anyone checked it. To reach a score, a line has
to be drafted onto a candidate as unverified and pass the Verifier or the
Corroborator, like everything else.
Section technology · Version 2026-09-25 · Cadence annual · Evidence class 2 published · Sources 19 · Supersedes none
Domain: ctdna-mrd-assay-validation · Scope: Settles idea-003 REQ-0033. Published methods for producing mononucleosome-sized variant-bearing DNA for spike-in (MNase digestion of cell-line chromatin, enzymatic or sonication shearing, synthetic dsDNA fragments, apoptotic or conditioned cell-culture media cfDNA (cell-free DNA), dilution into donor plasma), with vendors using them, whether a ~167 bp peak is reproduced, and IP (intellectual property) noted. PubMed via the literature connector at abstract depth (one PMC full text); vendor product pages and patent documents via WebFetch. Excludes a freedom-to-operate or landscape search (no capability exists here), vendor certificates of analysis and internal SOPs, full texts behind publisher paywalls, and jurisdictions other than US.
Sourcing: Rests on eleven PubMed abstracts (one read in full text) describing how reference-material fragments are made, three US patent documents read on Google Patents, and three vendor pages; the patent connector returned no record for any of the three patents, and no published process for spiking into native pooled donor plasma was found at abstract depth.
Micrococcal nuclease (MNase) digestion of chromatin from cancer cell lines has been published as a way to make ctDNA (circulating tumour DNA) reference material by at least two independent metrology groups, in Shanghai and at KRISS [1][2][3]. Patient-derived organoids release cfDNA into culture medium with a mononucleosome-associated size profile, as reported by two independent groups [9][10]. Across the reference-material abstracts and vendor pages read, fragment sizes are reported in several different ways, and none reports a peak at exactly ~167 bp [1][2][4][17]. The routes other than MNase, the vendor compositions and the patent claims each rest on one source and are set out in section 3.
_Baseline (v1). No prior version; this establishes the starting point for future diffs._
[1] Establishment of Reference Measurement Procedure for TP53 R175H/R248W Detection and a Novel Preparation Method for ctDNA Reference Material — Genes (published 2025-05-14; accessed 2026-09-25). PMID (PubMed identifier) 40428398; DOI 10.3390/genes16050576 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/40428398/ [peer-reviewed] [2] Development and characterization of nucleosomal DNA-based reference materials for the epidermal growth factor receptor gene liquid biopsy — Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry (published 2026-06, day not given in the PubMed record; accessed 2026-09-25). PMID 41936644; DOI 10.1007/s00216-026-06475-5 — https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC13221357/ [peer-reviewed] [3] Improvement of digital PCR conditions for direct detection of KRAS mutations — Journal of Clinical Laboratory Analysis (published 2020-08, day not given in the PubMed record; accessed 2026-09-25). PMID 32329932; DOI 10.1002/jcla.23344 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32329932/ [peer-reviewed] [4] Development of a nine-variant reference material panel to standardize cell-free DNA detection — Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry (published 2024-07, day not given in the PubMed record; accessed 2026-09-25). PMID 38782781; DOI 10.1007/s00216-024-05336-3 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/38782781/ [peer-reviewed] [5] Interlaboratory assessment of droplet digital PCR for quantification of BRAF V600E mutation using a novel DNA reference material — Talanta (published 2020-01-15; accessed 2026-09-25). PMID 31594564; DOI 10.1016/j.talanta.2019.120293 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/31594564/ [peer-reviewed] [6] Advancing NGS (next-generation sequencing) quality control to enable measurement of actionable mutations in circulating tumor DNA — Cell Reports Methods (published 2021-11-22; accessed 2026-09-25). PMID 35475002 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/35475002/ [peer-reviewed] [7] Multilaboratory Assessment of a New Reference Material for Quality Assurance of Cell-Free Tumor DNA Measurements — The Journal of Molecular Diagnostics (published 2019-07, day not given in the PubMed record; accessed 2026-09-25). PMID 31055023; DOI 10.1016/j.jmoldx.2019.03.006 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/31055023/ [peer-reviewed] [8] Certified Reference Materials for Standardization of Cell-Free DNA Isolation Recovery in Liquid Biopsy — The Journal of Molecular Diagnostics (published 2026-06, day not given in the PubMed record; accessed 2026-09-25). PMID 41936819 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41936819/ [peer-reviewed] [9] Multidimensional fragmentomic profiling of cell-free DNA released from patient-derived organoids — Human Genomics (published 2023-10-28; accessed 2026-09-25). PMID 37898819 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/37898819/ [peer-reviewed] [10] Characterization of the cell-free DNA released by tumor organoids derived from colorectal cancer patients — European Journal of Cancer (published 2025-12-09; accessed 2026-09-25). PMID 41223563 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41223563/ [peer-reviewed] [11] Simulating cell-free chromatin using preclinical cancer models for liquid biopsy applications — iScience (published 2025-12-19; accessed 2026-09-25). PMID 41497400 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41497400/ [peer-reviewed] [12] SeraSeq reference materials support non-invasive cfDNA screening methods — Clinical Biochemistry (published 2026-01, day not given in the PubMed record; accessed 2026-09-25). PMID 41232587 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41232587/ [peer-reviewed] [13] Cell free DNA diagnostic testing standards — Natera Inc, patent document via Google Patents (published 2016-11-22; accessed 2026-09-25). US9499870B2 — https://patents.google.com/patent/US9499870B2/en [other] [14] Cell free DNA diagnostic testing standards (continuation) — Natera Inc, patent document via Google Patents (published 2020-03-03; accessed 2026-09-25). US10577655B2 — https://patents.google.com/patent/US10577655B2/en [other] [15] Generation of cfDNA reference material — Covaris LLC, patent document via Google Patents (published 2022-01-04; accessed 2026-09-25). US11215622B2 (published application US20180217161A1) — https://patents.google.com/patent/US11215622B2/en [other] [16] Seraseq ctDNA MRD Panel Mix — SeraCare / LGC Clinical Diagnostics product page (published date not stated; accessed 2026-09-25). catalog no. 0710-2146 — https://www.seracare.com/Seraseq-ctDNA-MRD-Panel-Mix-0710-2146/ [manufacturer] [17] Mimix Multiplex I, cfDNA Reference Standard Set — Horizon Discovery (Revvity) product page (published date not stated; accessed 2026-09-25). catalog no. HD776 (set also HD777, HD778, HD779) — https://horizondiscovery.com/en/reference-standards/products/multiplex-i-cfdna-reference-standard-set [manufacturer] [18] EZ Nucleosomal DNA Prep Kit — Zymo Research product page (published date not stated; accessed 2026-09-25). catalog no. D5220 — https://zymoresearch.com/products/ez-nucleosomal-dna-prep-kit [manufacturer] [19] Cell-Free DNA Release Kinetics and Fragmentation Reflect Treatment Response and Resistance In Vitro — Cells (published 2026-08-28; accessed 2026-09-25). PMID 42738856 — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/42738856/ [peer-reviewed]
Well established: MNase digestion of cancer cell-line chromatin, as a published way to make ctDNA reference material. It rests on Shanghai Ocean University [1] and KRISS [2][3], which are separate institutions. Organoid culture medium carrying mononucleosome-sized cfDNA rests on two independent groups [9][10].
Thin: Every fragment-size figure is [single-source]. Vendor composition lines are [single-source · manufacturer] [16][17][18]. The three patent lines are [single-source]. They come from Google Patents renderings, because the patent connector returned no record ("No EPO (European Patent Office) OPS record found") for US9499870B2, US10577655B2 and US11215622B2. As a result, assignee, grant status, term and expiry were not established from any registry, and this report states no legal status or expiry date. Most papers were read at abstract depth. The exception is [2], read in PMC full text.
Rescoped from class 3: None in this report. REQ-0033 asks what exists, not what anyone would do.
Out of scope: Freedom-to-operate or landscape search (no capability exists; claims 18 and C1 on idea-003 already record this). Whether Natera or Covaris license these patents, and on what terms: no licensing statement was found or searched for beyond the patent texts and the three vendor pages. Vendor certificates of analysis and manufacturing SOPs. Twist Bioscience's cfDNA product pages. The full text of the Zymo kit protocol.
Not searched vs. not found:
[inference] Fragment production appears to be an established published process with several routes and an off-the-shelf MNase kit [1][2][4][5][18]. The same MNase-nucleosomal route is the subject of issued US patent claims held by Natera and Covaris [13][15], so it may be licensable or encumbered rather than free. Whether it is either is not determined here. The step specific to the candidate — spiking into native pooled donor plasma with a dPCR uncertainty budget at 0.001–0.01% VAF — was not found as a published process. On this evidence it reads as development work. The KRISS serum matrix effect [3] and the Seraseq fragment-periodicity deviation [12] suggest that matrix and fragment source are where that development risk sits.
| Proposition | Evidence class | Resolvable identifier | Dossier section |
|---|---|---|---|
| A ctDNA reference material prepared by MNase digestion of cancer cell-line nucleosomes showed dominant peaks at 128 bp (TP53 R175H) and 143 bp (R248W) | 2 published | PMID 40428398 | technology |
| KRISS nucleosomal-DNA EGFR reference materials (0–5% nominal VAF) had a fragment size distribution of about 150–170 bp and were stable three years at −70 °C | 2 published | PMID 41936644 | technology |
| Enzymatic digestion of cell-line DNA produced reference-material fragments of about 154–173 bp for a nine-variant cfDNA panel at 0.33–23.9% VAF | 2 published | PMID 38782781 | technology |
| Spiking nucleosomal or genomic DNA into fetal bovine serum significantly changed dPCR output compared with non-serum conditions | 2 published | PMID 32329932 | technology |
| US9499870B2 claim 1 claims a cfDNA proficiency-testing standard made of nucleosomal nucleic acid preparations from two cell sources, in unequal quantities | 2 published | US9499870B2 | technology |
| US11215622B2 claim 1 claims generating cfDNA reference material by formaldehyde fixation, acoustic shearing, and enzymatic linker digestion to 147–195 bp nucleosome material | 2 published | US11215622B2 | technology |
| Seraseq ctDNA MRD Panel Mix is supplied as purified DNA in Tris/EDTA at 0.5%, 0.05% and 0.005% tumor fraction | 2 published | catalog no. 0710-2146 | reference-products |
| Seraseq NIPT reference materials showed slight but consistent fragment-size-profile deviations from natural maternal plasma | 2 published | PMID 41232587 | technology |
_shared/plain-language.md