idea-004 · payer messages

Every line ends in the claim that substantiates it and that claim's own confidence tag, or is marked unsubstantiated. A message set never upgrades a tag, invents a number, or states anything the candidate's intended use does not cover.

Home wearable LED phototherapy with onboard dosimetry — payer messages

Intended use: For use in the home under prescription to deliver phototherapy to newborns of at least 35 weeks gestational age with uncomplicated indirect hyperbilirubinemia whose total serum bilirubin is above the phototherapy threshold but below the escalation-of-care threshold, as an alternative to inpatient readmission for phototherapy.

Messages

Beyond intended use

Any message above that asserts a population, setting, duration or outcome the intended use does not state. None. is a valid answer and the honest one for most candidates. An absent section is a failure.

Not none. Four edges, named specifically.

  1. "2-4 days" is a duration the indication does not state. The indication names no episode length. The rental-month question takes 2-4 days from claim 10unconfirmed, where it is a Generator assumption for revenue-per-episode arithmetic, and puts it in front of a payer as an expected episode length. It is framed as a billing-unit question rather than a treatment promise, but a payer will read it as a duration.
  2. The dose record is not in the indication. The indication claims phototherapy delivery only. What becomes auditable offers the record to the payer as a benefit, and The edit that decides the photometer makes it a possible payment condition. Dosimetry lives in the candidate's mechanism:, not in its claimed indication, and how FDA would read a dose-and-adherence record sent to the clinician is itself only on record as an assumption claim 74unverified. Neither message may ever be phrased as the device telling anyone something about the infant's bilirubin.
  3. A code whose descriptor names a photometer is not a measurement claim, and must never read as one. "Phototherapy (bilirubin) light with photometer" reads, to a payer skimming a fee schedule, like a device that measures bilirubin. Billed under says outright that the photometer measures delivered light, and Not a diagnostic, and not billed as one holds that edge shut. The edit that decides the photometer is phrased as a payer's coding rule, never as a clinical capability.
  4. Monitoring sits outside the device, and one message leans on it. Monitoring stays where it is is inside the indication (home, under prescription, bilirubin monitoring left with the clinician), but it states an expectation of family behaviour, on-schedule outpatient draws, that the indication does not claim and that nothing verifies.

Checked and found inside the indication:

What we cannot say yet

Every message above whose backing is not verified. The checker enforces set equality — exactly these lines, no more and no fewer.

Words on this page10 abbreviation(s) and code(s), with what each stands for — copied from _shared/plain-language.md
21 CFR
Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations — the US food-and-drug rulebook; a number after it is one regulation, often the one that classifies a device type
510(k)
premarket notification — the FDA route for a device shown to be as safe and effective as one already on the market; months, no clinical trial as a rule
Class II
FDA device class II — moderate-risk devices, usually cleared by 510(k)
DME
durable medical equipment — equipment a patient uses at home, such as a pump or a stimulator, that Medicare pays for under its own rules
DMEPOS
durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics and supplies — the Medicare benefit and fee schedule that home equipment is paid under
E####
a HCPCS code for durable medical equipment — one billing code for a piece of home equipment; the letter E and four digits
FDA
US Food and Drug Administration — the US regulator that clears or approves a device before it can be sold
HCPCS
Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System — the US billing codes for equipment, supplies and some services; a code is how a payer recognises what to pay for
K######
an FDA 510(k) clearance number — the public record of one cleared device; the letter K and six digits
S####
a HCPCS temporary national code — a billing code used by some private payers and not by Medicare