Every line ends in the claim that substantiates it and that claim's
own confidence tag, or is marked unsubstantiated. A message set never upgrades a
tag, invents a number, or states anything the candidate's intended use does not cover.
Home wearable LED phototherapy with onboard dosimetry — user messages
Intended use: For use in the home under prescription to deliver phototherapy to newborns of at least 35 weeks gestational age with uncomplicated indirect hyperbilirubinemia whose total serum bilirubin is above the phototherapy threshold but below the escalation-of-care threshold, as an alternative to inpatient readmission for phototherapy.
Messages
What changes on Tuesday: A 35-week-or-older newborn whose bilirubin sits above the treatment threshold and below the escalation threshold goes home in a light-emitting wrap on your prescription, instead of staying on the ward or coming back to it. claim 19unconfirmed
What it replaces: The inpatient episode whose only purpose is holding a baby under a light — and, where home treatment already happens, the fiberoptic blanket a DME (durable medical equipment) supplier rents to the family today. claim 17unconfirmedclaim 15unconfirmed
What arrives at the house: A DME supplier delivers the wrap, sets it up, trains the parents and collects it at the end of the episode. The family orders nothing and assembles nothing. claim 22unconfirmed
What the family actually has to do: Keep the wrap on the baby for the prescribed hours, feed and settle around it, and finish the episode — with no nurse in the room. The device logs whether that happened. claim 18unconfirmed
Why they would switch: Because the record that comes back is what was actually delivered — irradiance times time, for that episode — so an ordering clinician can see whether the prescribed dose is reaching the baby rather than assume it. claim 33unconfirmed
What nothing else cleared in this form factor offers: The closest cleared wearable phototherapy system's Indications for Use claim no dosimetry, no irradiance record and no adherence record. claim 2verified
Where the line is drawn: The classification behind this device — Class II (FDA device class II), 21 CFR (Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations) 880.5700, product code LBI, to market by 510(k) (premarket notification) clearance — was checked against this indication as written, and the match is treatment delivery only. It is a cleared device, not an approved one. claim 1verified
What it does not do: It does not measure bilirubin. It will not give you a number and it will not give you a trajectory. The follow-up serum draw stays exactly where it is today — with the ordering clinician — because a bilirubin measurement claim would put this device on a different regulation, 21 CFR 862.1110 or 862.1113, in front of a different FDA (US Food and Drug Administration) review panel. claim 31verified
Who it is not for: Not a newborn under 35 weeks. Not complicated or hemolytic jaundice. Not a baby at or above the escalation-of-care threshold. Those infants sit outside the indication and nothing about this device changes where they are treated. [unsubstantiated]
The honest safety limit: In a first-in-human pilot of a wearable phototherapy device in 12 near-term and term neonates, 2 of 12 were switched to conventional intensive phototherapy because bilirubin kept rising despite wearable treatment. Under-dosing at home — light falling off with distance and with coverage, and no bedside nurse checking — is the risk this form factor carries, and it is the reason the device measures what it delivered. claim 41unconfirmedclaim 14unconfirmed
Beyond intended use
Any message above that asserts a population, setting, duration or outcome the intended use does not state. None. is a valid answer and the honest one for most candidates. An absent section is a failure.
Not none. Three edges, named specifically.
The indication covers readmission; two messages also cover the initial stay. The intended use positions this "as an alternative to inpatient readmission for phototherapy." What changes on Tuesday says "instead of staying on the ward or coming back to it," and What it replaces names "the inpatient episode." Avoiding a birth-hospitalisation bed-day is a wider positioning than the label states. claim 17unconfirmed covers both halves; the indication covers one.
The dose record and its clinical use are not in the indication. The indication claims phototherapy delivery only; dosimetry and the record sent to the ordering clinician live in the candidate's mechanism:, not in the intended use. Why they would switch goes further and asserts a clinician acts on that record. claim 33unconfirmed backs it as a proposition, the indication does not.
"For the prescribed hours" is a duration the indication does not state.What the family actually has to do asserts a wear pattern. The indication names no treatment duration, no daily wear time and no episode length; those are prescriber decisions, and no message here may imply the device sets them.
Checked and found inside the indication: every population reference in this set — 35 weeks or older, above the treatment threshold, below the escalation threshold, uncomplicated — is copied from the indication, and Who it is not for restates the exclusions rather than widening them. Every setting reference is the home, under prescription. What nothing else cleared in this form factor offers describes a competitor's label, not ours. And the bilirubin edge was walked line by line: only two messages name bilirubin, What it does not do, which denies the capability, and The honest safety limit, which reports a third-party pilot's outcome and not this device's function. Why they would switch deliberately says whether the prescribed dose is reaching the baby, never what the bilirubin is doing.
What we cannot say yet
Every message above whose backing is not verified. The checker enforces set equality — exactly these lines, no more and no fewer.
What changes on Tuesday: whether discharging clinicians and general pediatricians will substitute home phototherapy for inpatient treatment without an added bilirubin measurement is the condition this whole file returns to most often, and it is untouched — claim 19unconfirmed
What it replaces: neither the inpatient status quo for this band nor the composition of today's home rental fleet has been checked against a source — claim 17unconfirmedclaim 15unconfirmed
What arrives at the house: that the DME supplier is the paying customer and the delivery channel is a business-model assumption, never researched — claim 22unconfirmed
What the family actually has to do: parent adherence to prescribed irradiance-hours, unsupervised, has no evidence behind it here; the nearest sighting is a 12-infant pilot of a different device — claim 18unconfirmed
Why they would switch: that a clinician would act on a dose-and-adherence record rather than file it is asserted and unresearched — claim 33unconfirmed
Who it is not for: the exclusions are the sponsor's own scoping decision; nothing in the file establishes that the excluded infants are appropriately excluded or that a guideline says so — [unsubstantiated]
The honest safety limit: a 12-infant pilot of a different device, located by a literature scan and never appraised, alongside a named but unmeasured under-dosing risk — claim 41unconfirmedclaim 14unconfirmed
Words on this page5 abbreviation(s) and code(s), with what each stands for — copied from _shared/plain-language.md
21 CFR
Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations — the US food-and-drug rulebook; a number after it is one regulation, often the one that classifies a device type
510(k)
premarket notification — the FDA route for a device shown to be as safe and effective as one already on the market; months, no clinical trial as a rule
Class II
FDA device class II — moderate-risk devices, usually cleared by 510(k)
DME
durable medical equipment — equipment a patient uses at home, such as a pump or a stimulator, that Medicare pays for under its own rules
FDA
US Food and Drug Administration — the US regulator that clears or approves a device before it can be sold