Every line ends in the claim that substantiates it and that claim's
own confidence tag, or is marked unsubstantiated. A message set never upgrades a
tag, invents a number, or states anything the candidate's intended use does not cover.
Home wearable LED phototherapy with onboard dosimetry — investor messages
Intended use: For use in the home under prescription to deliver phototherapy to newborns of at least 35 weeks gestational age with uncomplicated indirect hyperbilirubinemia whose total serum bilirubin is above the phototherapy threshold but below the escalation-of-care threshold, as an alternative to inpatient readmission for phototherapy.
Messages
The problem: A newborn whose bilirubin is above the treatment threshold and below the escalation threshold occupies a hospital bed whose only clinical function is holding the baby under a light — or is brought back to one within days of going home. claim 17unconfirmed
Why now: As of an FDA (US Food and Drug Administration) decision dated 2026-01-15 there is a cleared wearable phototherapy garment on the US market — SnugLit, K251308 (an FDA 510(k) clearance number) — for hospital and home use, caregiver-administered under practitioner supervision. The wearable form factor is no longer hypothetical, and predicate availability is not the constraint on this company. claim 2verified
The route we are taking: Class II (FDA device class II) under 21 CFR (Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations) 880.5700, product code LBI, to market via 510(k) (premarket notification) premarket notification — a clearance, not an approval — and that classification was checked against the indication above as written, treatment delivery only. claim 1verified
What we are betting: That an onboard radiometer can measure the irradiance actually reaching the skin, in a garment that shifts against a moving newborn, inside a tolerance a reviewer or a payer would accept as a dose record. That is the bet; there is no second one hiding behind it. claim 27unconfirmed
Why us: The defensible assets are the per-episode dosimetry record tied to the billing record, and the DME (durable medical equipment) distribution relationship. The LED array is a commodity and we do not pretend otherwise. claim 12unconfirmed
What we are deliberately not building: This device delivers light; it does not measure bilirubin. A bilirubin measurement claim lands on a different generic type under a different regulation — 21 CFR 862.1110 (Class II) or 21 CFR 862.1113 (Class I) — in front of the clinical chemistry review panel rather than the panel carrying our launch route, and it is a separate submission we are not making at launch. claim 31verified
Who is already in the room: The closest cleared wearable's own Indications for Use cover hospital and home use, caregiver-administered, across 1.5-5.5 kg and 40.5-57.5 cm, with no gestational-age floor and no bilirubin-band ceiling — a broader label than ours — while claiming no dosimetry, no irradiance record and no adherence record. Our narrower indication buys no lane they do not already occupy, so the dose record has to carry the whole difference. claim 2verified
What would prove us wrong, clinically: A first-in-human pilot of a wearable phototherapy device in 12 near-term and term neonates completed phototherapy within 48 hours in 10 of 12, and switched 2 of 12 to conventional intensive phototherapy because bilirubin kept rising despite wearable treatment. Under-dosing at home is the device-specific risk this product carries, and that pilot is the first sighting of it in this form factor. claim 41unconfirmedclaim 14unconfirmed
What would prove us wrong, commercially: The one payment figure anyone has retrieved for HCPCS (Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System) E0202 (a HCPCS code for durable medical equipment) is a Louisiana Medicaid DMEPOS (durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics and supplies) rate of $33.71. If an allowable of that order does not cover same-day delivery, in-home setup, parent training and retrieval, there is no DME supplier — and with no supplier there is no business standing on top of the device. claim 44unconfirmedclaim 24unconfirmed
How fast we would find out: The dosimetry question is a bench question — a reference photometer, a neonatal phantom, and a garment. No human subject, no regulator and no payer stands between us and that answer. [unsubstantiated]
What the device generates about itself: Every episode produces a delivered-dose record, which is the cheapest clinical evidence this company will ever own. [unsubstantiated]
Beyond intended use
Any message above that asserts a population, setting, duration or outcome the intended use does not state. None. is a valid answer and the honest one for most candidates. An absent section is a failure.
Not none. Three edges, named specifically.
The indication covers readmission; "The problem" also describes the initial stay. The intended use positions the device "as an alternative to inpatient readmission for phototherapy." The problem says newborns are kept in hospital as well as brought back to it. claim 17unconfirmed covers both halves; the indication covers only the second. Displacing a birth-hospitalisation bed-day is a wider positioning than the label states, and it is the framing this company will reach for every time it describes the market. Stated here rather than quietly narrowed in the copy.
The dose record is not in the indication at all. The intended use claims phototherapy delivery and nothing else — no dosimetry, no irradiance record, no transmission of one to a clinician. Onboard dosimetry lives in the candidate's mechanism:, not in its indication. So What we are betting, Why us and What the device generates about itself each sell a function the claimed indication does not state. None of them may ever be phrased as the device telling a clinician something about the infant.
No message says or implies a bilirubin reading, and that was checked line by line. The two lines that name bilirubin are What would prove us wrong, clinically, which reports a third-party pilot's result and not this device's function, and What we are deliberately not building, which denies the capability outright. What we are betting deliberately says irradiance at the skin, never a bilirubin level or trajectory.
Checked and found inside the indication: Why now and Who is already in the room describe a competitor's broader label — no gestational-age floor, no bilirubin-band ceiling — and attribute it to SnugLit by name in both places; neither claims that population for this device. The route we are taking restates the launch classification and says "clearance, not an approval." No message in this set states a treatment duration, a home-use duration, or a use outside the home.
What we cannot say yet
Every message above whose backing is not verified. The checker enforces set equality — exactly these lines, no more and no fewer.
The problem: that the eligible band is treated as inpatients or readmitted today, rather than at home, is the premise under the whole market and it rests on a deck-surfaced assumption no connector can reach — claim 17unconfirmed
What we are betting: skin-plane dosimetry accuracy in a moving garment has never been benched, here or anywhere in this file — claim 27unconfirmed
Why us: the moat lever is asserted, not tested, and freedom to operate on wearable-garment dosimetry has never been searched at all — claim 12unconfirmed
What would prove us wrong, clinically: a 12-infant pilot of a different device, located by a literature scan and never appraised — claim 41unconfirmedclaim 14unconfirmed
What would prove us wrong, commercially: $33.71 is one state's Medicaid schedule, human-attached and unverified; the national DMEPOS allowable has never been retrieved, and supplier unit economics are absent from the file entirely — claim 44unconfirmedclaim 24unconfirmed
How fast we would find out: nothing in the file establishes that clearance for this device would come on bench photometric data alone — [unsubstantiated]
What the device generates about itself: no claim in the file says a delivered-dose record would be accepted as evidence by anyone — a regulator, a payer, or a clinician — [unsubstantiated]
Words on this page9 abbreviation(s) and code(s), with what each stands for — copied from _shared/plain-language.md
21 CFR
Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations — the US food-and-drug rulebook; a number after it is one regulation, often the one that classifies a device type
510(k)
premarket notification — the FDA route for a device shown to be as safe and effective as one already on the market; months, no clinical trial as a rule
Class II
FDA device class II — moderate-risk devices, usually cleared by 510(k)
DME
durable medical equipment — equipment a patient uses at home, such as a pump or a stimulator, that Medicare pays for under its own rules
DMEPOS
durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics and supplies — the Medicare benefit and fee schedule that home equipment is paid under
E####
a HCPCS code for durable medical equipment — one billing code for a piece of home equipment; the letter E and four digits
FDA
US Food and Drug Administration — the US regulator that clears or approves a device before it can be sold
HCPCS
Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System — the US billing codes for equipment, supplies and some services; a code is how a payer recognises what to pay for
K######
an FDA 510(k) clearance number — the public record of one cleared device; the letter K and six digits