idea-003 · business case

Who pays, from which budget, how much, and 2-4 commercial routes to first revenue — every figure below traces to a copied claim or a declared assumption, and the routes are laid out unranked. Choosing a commercial strategy is a Tier 3 act, so this page presents options and stops.

Commutable patient-matrix reference material panel for validating tumor-informed ctDNA MRD assays (clinical QC material) — business case

Intended use: Quality control material — intended for use by molecular laboratories to monitor the analytical performance (analytical sensitivity at defined low tumor fractions, specificity, and inter-run precision) of tumor-informed circulating tumor DNA minimal residual disease assays, during assay validation and in routine run-by-run quality control. Not a calibrator, and not for use in establishing or interpreting an individual patient result.

Who pays

One cheque, written by a laboratory out of its own budget. There is no payer leg for the product: nobody bills a payer for a control material, and the product has no code claim 55unconfirmed claim 14unconfirmed. P2 clinical QC material at launch changes who inside the laboratory the product is sold to, not that.

The payer-side pull is unread, and it is the one that would matter. If MolDX's technical assessment required LoD to be shown on known-VAF (variant allele frequency) material, a payer would be pulling this product without paying for it. That L38779 requires a technical assessment is claim 126unconfirmed. That its analytical-validity criteria require known-VAF material without naming a source is claim 137unconfirmed. That the TA FAQs permit purchased material is claim 165unconfirmed. The BLOODPAC contrived-sample functional characterization requirement is claim 164unconfirmed. Four documents, none read by a connector. Until one is read, the only verified demand driver is CLIA's, and it points at no supplier.

Reimbursement path

Six questions, each with its own evidence position and one basis. No score, no tier, no composite. The rubric already treats Factor 2 as having no referent for this product, and nothing below gives it one. What the section adds is where the absence sits.

#QuestionFindingBasis
2aCoding route — Cat I / Cat III / unlisted / HCPCS (Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System) II / noneNone, and none is sought. The product is an operating input bought by a laboratory, not a service or item billed to a payer; there is no code to put to hcpcs, and "none is achievable" is a forward-looking negative no database settles claim 14unconfirmed. P2 clinical QC material at launch does not change this: a Class II (FDA device class II) 866.5910 listing is a device status, not a billing status claim 131verified. The only codes in the chain are the customers' PLA codes, such as 0340U claim 71verifiedclaim 55unconfirmed
2bPayment adequacy — does the rate clear a stated cost floorNo payer rate exists to test; the analogous test is the laboratory's purchase price against unit cost, and it is unrun. The price is a willingness-to-pay claim, $1,500-$3,000 per panel and $400-$900 per vial claim 149unconfirmed. The unit-cost build-up behind the cost floor does not exist claim 140unconfirmed. Whether about $875,000 a year at planning volumes and low-end prices exceeds fully loaded COGS (cost of goods sold) plus the recurring 866.5910 obligations has no cost side at allclaim 178unconfirmed
2cPractice-expense headroom — does the PE portion cover the deviceThere is no practice-expense portion anywhere in this chain, by construction. The only payment in it is the customer's CLFS national limitation amount, a single national rate per test, $3,590.00 for 0340U claim 71verified. The CLFS carries no PE split, and rvu 0340U returns refuted because the code is not on the PFS (physician fee schedule) at all. The control's cost is recovered, if at all, out of that one per-test rateclaim 71verified
2dSite of care & bundling — office/facility differential, DRG or APC packagingIndependent-laboratory setting only; no facility claim for a DRG or APC to package into. The CMS (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services) release carries one national row for 0340U, office/non-facility, 25,746 services, and no facility row claim 68verified. The product's own position is the bundled one anyway: its cost sits inside the laboratory's per-test payment with no add-on, which is the half resting on claim 55unconfirmed. apc 0340U and drg return unconfirmed on missing caches, which is a tooling gap and not a findingclaim 68verified
2eCoverage — has any payer agreed to pay for this indicationNo payer covers a control material, and none is expected to. Coverage exists only one step away, for the customer's test: four active MolDX MRD articles list 0340U claim 72verified, but existence is not a stance, and criteria-gated coverage under L38779 is claim 136unconfirmed. What matters commercially is whether that coverage requires material like this, and that is claim 137unconfirmedclaim 55unconfirmed
2fEx-US pathway — DE NUB/G-DRG, UK NICE (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence)/OPCS-4Permanently unconfirmed, and additionally without referent. launch_jurisdiction: is US; no connector reaches a non-US payment system, and a control material has no payer route in any system the question names— none

Pillars on verified claims: 2/6 · on assumptions: 0 · queued as research: 0

The other four: 2a, 2b and 2e rest on unconfirmed claims, and 2f on nothing. Read the split before the six. Both verified pillars (2c and 2d) are verified facts about the customer's payment: it is a CLFS national rate with no practice-expense split, billed in the independent-laboratory setting. Neither is about this product. Both point the same way: the payment structure has no line in it for a control material. They make the absence better evidenced. They do not make anything green. The rows that describe the product itself (2a, 2e) rest on a forward-looking negative claim 55unconfirmed that no database can settle.

Three distinctions kept apart deliberately:

Verdicts recorded where a check was run cold this pass and came back unusable:

The money model

The size is decomposed in the market model, built today against the same P2 clinical QC material at launch shape. It is not rebuilt here. Its coverage line reads legs on verified claims 0/7. Every leg below is the candidate's own number, copied from a claim the Verifier looked at and could not check. This table quotes the legs this case needs and adds the cost side, which the market model does not carry.

LineFigureBacking
Line A: US organisations buying a multi-level validation panel8-60claim 150unconfirmed — floor from eight companies in one MolDX article claim 125unconfirmed, ceiling from the Generator's 30-60 laboratories claim 12unconfirmed
Line A: validation panels per organisation per year3-20claim 150unconfirmed — the Verifier records this input as having no source
Line A: realized net price per panel$1,500-$3,000claim 149unconfirmed — willingness to pay; adoption refuses it by design
Line B: US laboratories running a daily run-by-run control on patient MRD testing30-60claim 151unconfirmed — a subset of Line A's population, yet its floor of 30 sits above Line A's floor of 8; the market model records the inconsistency claim 125unconfirmed
Line B: daily-control vials per laboratory per year250 (a point, not a range)claim 151unconfirmed — the once-a-day CLIA minimum claim 7verified read as a consumption rate. The market model names it the leg most likely to be wrong, in either direction
Line B: realized net price per daily-control vial$400-$900claim 149unconfirmed — bounded above the lab-diluted incumbent route at roughly $80 per run claim 177unconfirmed, which is ceiling pressure the range does not reflect
Reachable share for one new supplier by year 3 (both lines)10%-30%claim 151unconfirmed — the 10% floor from claim 47unconfirmed; the 30% is the Commercial chair's
Serviceable pool, one supplier, year 3 (the market model's arithmetic over the legs above)$303,600-$5,130,000 a yearclaim 150unconfirmed × claim 151unconfirmed × claim 149unconfirmed — Line B carries 79%-99% of the addressable pool at either end, so the daily control, not the panel, is what this is a business in
Commercial's planning point inside that bandabout $875,000 a year (50 panels and 2,000 vials at $1,500 and $400)claim 178unconfirmed — arithmetic checked by the Verifier; inputs unconfirmed
Fully loaded unit cost, panelnot stated anywhere; the only test is whether it falls below the $1,919.59 incumbent web priceclaim 140unconfirmed
Recurring annual cost of the 866.5910 obligations (QMS (quality management system), registration and listing, UDI (unique device identifier), complaint and MDR (medical device report) handling)not stated anywhere; obligations verified, cost unpricedclaim 159verified for the obligations; claim 178unconfirmed for whether revenue covers them
Gross marginnot stated anywhereclaim 49unconfirmed — the P0 the original shape-era form; claim 178unconfirmed is its P2 clinical QC material at launch numeric test

Read the largest number as a statement about the file, not the market. The $5.13M ceiling is seven unconfirmed legs multiplied together claim 150unconfirmed claim 151unconfirmed claim 149unconfirmed, and its span is narrow only because leg 5 is a point claim 151unconfirmed. The one check the market model could run against it goes through the customers' Medicare FFS test revenue of about $101M claim 68verified claim 71verified claim 74verified claim 75verified. That figure is never multiplied into this model and floors nothing in it. Folded through the file's own top-down QC-spend share of 0.5%-1.5% claim 11unconfirmed, it reconciles with the band only if all-payer MRD test revenue is several times the Medicare FFS book and laboratories buy most of their QC material rather than make it claim 76verified claim 77verified. The top-down volume that the P0 the original shape case started from is refuted claim 10refuted, and the P0 the original shape case's rate line claim 9unconfirmed is superseded in substance by claim 71verified. That is why neither appears in the table.

What P2 clinical QC material at launch did to the money, in one line: it kept the daily-control line, which is most of the pool claim 151unconfirmed, and added a fixed cost layer before the first sale claim 159verified. A fixed layer over a pool this size is why the cost rows above matter more than the price rows. Operations calls P2 clinical QC material at launch "a fixed-cost product" at planning volumes, and that reading is claim 140unconfirmed until priced.

Both refusing connectors were run cold this pass against P2 clinical QC material at launch-shaped claims, and the verdicts go on the page:

The adoption connector's suggested rescope (coverage, procedures) was followed and is recorded in the reimbursement section above. It returns the customer's test, which is the closest checkable proxy and is not this product's demand claim 68verified.

Path to first revenue

Routes

Four, laid out and not ranked. Choosing a commercial strategy is a Tier 3 act, so this section presents options and stops. Routes A, B and C all sell the P2 clinical QC material at launch product under 866.5910 and share one exposure, which is stated once here rather than three times: a 513(g) reading that withdraws the exemption claim 52unconfirmed puts a 510(k) in front of all three. That changes their calendars, not their economics, and it is not the kill condition of any one of them. Route D does not carry that exposure, and it carries the RUO exposure that P2 clinical QC material at launch was made to remove instead.

Route A — P2 clinical QC material at launch as written: own quality system, both SKUs, direct to MRD laboratories

Build the 21 CFR 820 quality system in-house, list both SKUs under SCU, and sell direct.

Route B — P2 clinical QC material at launch product, made and released inside an existing 866.5910 establishment

Same product, same listing and same customers. The quality system belongs to a contract manufacturer that already lists devices under SCU, NZB or QIG.

Route C — License the value-assignment method to an incumbent that already runs ISO 13485

Sell the differentiator, not the vials. The licensee's existing quality system carries the P2 clinical QC material at launch layer, and idea-003 carries the method and the pilot-lot evidence.

Route D — Development-phase-only RUO panel, no daily control

The shape the front end keeps on the table and has not taken. Delete performance monitoring, sell the multi-level panel only to developers that report no patient results, and exclude validation support by contract.

Assumption register

Every assumption cited above, with what would settle it and who could run it. These were appended to the candidate on 2026-09-26 as unverified claims 179-182 via append_commercial_claims.py, before this file was written. The P0 the original shape case's A1 In vitro diagnostic products properly…-A5 21 CFR 866.5910's generic type are claims 47-51, already on the candidate and tagged unconfirmed. They are cited above as claims and not re-registered.

#AssumptionFalsifierOwner
A1 In vitro diagnostic products properly…From a standing start, first commercial distribution of idea-003 as a 21 CFR 866.5910 device takes longer than the 9-15 months claim 50unconfirmed states for the RUO-era shape, because a documented ISO 13485 / 21 CFR 820 quality system with design controls, UDI and complaint handling must precede distribution (claim 159verified), and the P2 clinical QC material at launch plan puts three production lots on independent pools in the path (claim 170unconfirmed). claim 179unconfirmedA critical-path plan with named vendor lead times: a QMS consultant or eQMS quote with an implementation calendar, a plasma-pool supply lead time (claim 172unconfirmed), pilot-lot and three-lot durations, and the REQ-0096 Under 21 CFR 866.5910 as a 510 answer on whether special-control data must precede distributionOperations & NPI (new product introduction), with Regulatory for the REQ-0096 Under 21 CFR 866.5910 as a 510 half
A2 FDA guidance "Distribution of In Vitro…The one-time cost of idea-003's P2 clinical QC material at launch fixed layer (the 21 CFR 820 / ISO 13485 quality system with design controls, UDI and complaint and MDR handling, the special-control design-verification study set, and three production lots) fits inside the low-single-digit-million first-revenue budget that claim 20unconfirmed states without that layer. claim 180unconfirmedThe REQ-0083 Produce the cost-of-goods build-up your… bottom-up build with the fixed layer itemized: QMS set-up quote, design-verification study costs per claim 158unconfirmed's list, three lots' plasma, testing and value-assignment cost, compared line by line with claim 20unconfirmedOperations & NPI
A3 Enforcement risk claimAt least one FDA (US Food and Drug Administration)-registered establishment listing a device under 866.5910 (SCU, NZB or QIG) would quote to manufacture and release idea-003's daily-use control under its own quality system at a per-vial toll price below $400, the low end of claim 149unconfirmed's range. claim 181unconfirmedAn RFQ to the establishments behind the registration numbers on the NZB, QIG and SCU classification records (claim 171unconfirmed lists them), asking for a written toll-manufacture quote at 2,000 vials a yearOperations & NPI, with business development
A4 A quality control material whose entire…Since 2016, at least one of LGC Clinical Diagnostics/SeraCare, Revvity/Horizon Discovery, Twist Bioscience or Thermo Fisher Scientific has publicly announced in-licensing, or acquiring as a single asset, a nucleic-acid reference-material or QC-material production method developed by a third party. This is the revealed-behaviour twin of claim 51unconfirmed. claim 182unconfirmedA search of the four companies' press-release archives and SEC filings (8-K, 10-K business sections) for licence or asset-purchase announcements naming a reference-material or QC-material method, recording the counterparty and the stage of the asset at signing45_research

Where this case outruns the file

Every figure and every step with no verified claim behind it, gathered in one place. These are the work items.

Words on this page26 abbreviation(s) and code(s), with what each stands for — copied from _shared/plain-language.md
21 CFR
Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations — the US food-and-drug rulebook; a number after it is one regulation, often the one that classifies a device type
510(k)
premarket notification — the FDA route for a device shown to be as safe and effective as one already on the market; months, no clinical trial as a rule
Class II
FDA device class II — moderate-risk devices, usually cleared by 510(k)
CLFS
clinical laboratory fee schedule — the Medicare price list for laboratory tests
CLIA
Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments — the US rules a clinical laboratory must meet to report test results on patients
CMS
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services — the US agency that runs Medicare, and so decides what Medicare pays for
COGS
cost of goods sold — what it costs to make one unit
ctDNA
circulating tumour DNA — fragments of a tumour's DNA found in the blood
dPCR
digital polymerase chain reaction — a laboratory method that counts individual DNA molecules
FDA
US Food and Drug Administration — the US regulator that clears or approves a device before it can be sold
FFS
fee-for-service — the traditional form of Medicare that pays per item or service
HCPCS
Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System — the US billing codes for equipment, supplies and some services; a code is how a payer recognises what to pay for
ISO
International Organization for Standardization — the body whose numbered standards devices and laboratories are tested against
IVD
in vitro diagnostic — a test run on a sample taken from the body rather than on the body
L#####
a Medicare local coverage determination number — the public id of one local coverage rule; the letter L and five digits
MDR
medical device report — a report to the FDA of a device problem
MRD
molecular residual disease — cancer left behind after treatment, too little to see on a scan, detected through DNA in the blood
NICE
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence — the English body whose guidelines say what the NHS should use
NPI
new product introduction — taking a design into manufacture: tooling, suppliers, first production
PFS
physician fee schedule — the Medicare price list for what clinicians do
QC
quality control — the samples and checks a laboratory runs to prove its test is still working
QMS
quality management system — the documented processes a manufacturer must run to be allowed to sell a device
RUO
research use only — a labelling status that keeps a product out of patient diagnosis; no FDA review, no clinical claims
SCU
subcutaneous — under the skin
UDI
unique device identifier — the barcode-style id every marketed device carries
VAF
variant allele frequency — what share of the DNA fragments at one position carry the tumour's mutation; the lower it is, the harder the test